This is the "Home" page of the "GEOG 2310: Introduction to Refugee and Migration Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEOG 2310: Introduction to Refugee and Migration Studies   Tags: c:all, c:ap/geog2310  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/GEOG2310 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This course guide will list some recommended resources to help write your research paper on international migration for GEOG2310. 

Background Information

Global City Migration Map: click on the city's name on the map to generate a fact sheet showing the number and the share of foreign-born residents in a city 

International Migration Outlook: OECD’s annual publication analysing recent developments in migration movements and policies in its countries. Each edition provides the latest statistical information on immigrant stocks and flows, immigrants in the labour market, and migration policies. Country Reports provide detailed policy information for each OECD country and special reports look at current issues in immigration.

Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World covers over 20 ethnic groups that have experienced voluntary or forced immigration. Essays discuss the history behind the social, economic, and political reasons for leaving the original countries, and the cultures in the new places. Include over 60 portraits of specific diaspora communities

Migration Information Source: authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. A unique online resource, the Source offers useful tools, vital data, and essential facts on the movement of people worldwide.

REFWORLD:  contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks.


Keyword Searching

Before searching the library catalogue for books or the indexes for journal articles, it is useful to understand how to search these library resources effectively. A keyword search searches for key words or key concepts of your topic. You can perform a keyword search in the library catalogue and periodical indexes. Having a search plan will save time and frustration. The following steps will help you develop a search plan:

1) Write down your topic and list the key concepts/ideas

Topic: the experience of racism by Algerian migrants in France

Concept 1: Algerians

Concept 2: France

Concept 3: racism

2) Use AND between the key concepts. AND connects different concepts.

      Algerians
AND
      France
AND
      racism

3) Think of synonyms or other words/phrases, related terms that might be used to describe each concept.

Algerians: Algeria, North Africans* 

racism: racial discrimination, discrimination

*(you might have to search more broadly for the concept of "Algerians"; Algerians could be included in books about North Africans)


4) Place OR between each synonym and use brackets around the concept and its synonyms.
OR connects similar concepts.

      Algerians OR Algeria OR North Africans
AND
      France OR Paris
AND
      Racism OR racial discrimination OR discrimination



Finding Books

Search the library catalogue for books on your topic using the Advanced Search




Finding Articles

Search periodical indexes for journal articles published on your topic. Consult the Research Guides for a list of relevant databases by subject or explore the following list of selected databases that may be relevant to your topic.

Journal articles

  • GEOBASE: multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, the earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of over 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications, and provides archival coverage of several thousand additional journal titles and books.

  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.

  • Urban Studies Abstracts: This resource covers areas essential to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history. The index contains more than 45,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline and date back to 1929.

  • Sociological Abstracts: Indexes over 2500 journals in the theoretical and applied aspects of sociology. Some international and Canadian content. Articles, as well as unpublished materials, such as conference papers and theses, are indexed. Coverage is from 1986 - present.

  • PAIS: Indexes articles from scholarly journals, books, government publications, directories, and reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations. Web sites are also included. Covers all subjects related to public affairs, including political, economic, environmental and social issues. Coverage is from 1972 - present.

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Indexes abstracts of scholarly articles from journals and books in political science and related fields such as international relations, political science, political theory, public administration/policy. Coverage is from 1975- present.

  • Anthropology Plus: provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

Newspaper articles

Consult the Newspaper research guides for a list of databases to search for newspaper articles on your topic.

Government  Sources

Review the Government Publications guide for a list of tools to search for government documents.

The following websites will provide publications and reports by non-governmental agencies/international agencies:

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees :

  • publication page provides a wide range of materials for diverse audiences, ranging from basic documents such as the 1951 Refugee Convention to refugee and international law reports and research and evaluation papers. 
  • includes link to RefWorld which contains a vast collection of reports relating to situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks.

 World Bank:

 

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip