This is the "Scholarly Sources" page of the "IHST2000 - Global Health Policy: Power and Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IHST2000 - Global Health Policy: Power and Politics   Tags: c:all, c:hh/ihst2000  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/IHST2000 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Scholarly Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Genny Jon
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
416-736-2100 X33927
Steacie Library Room 102K
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing

American Psychological Association (APA) Style

APA style is a widely-used multi-purpose citation style.

Books

  • York University Library Catalogue
    Contains YUL's book, ebook, and journal holdings.
  • Google Books
    The full text of many books is searchable through Google Books. Look up a book here to see if it is worth borrowing or tracking down.

Health Indexes & Databases

  • MEDLINE
    Indexes journal articles from the biomedical sciences. Maintained by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM) and provded through an Ovid interface. Coverage overlaps significantly with PubMed; see the NLM Fact Sheet What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed for more details. Visit the OvidSP Online Training website for help.
  • PubMed
    Indexes journal articles from the biomedical sciences. Provided free of charge online by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Coverage information is available at the NIH website. Coverage overlaps significantly with MEDLINE; see the NLM Fact Sheet What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed for more details. Visit the PubMed Tutorial Page for help.
  • Global Health Database (World Health Organization)
    Indexes scientific and technical literature on health. Provided free of charge online by the World Health Organization. Allows searching of various regional indexes (Africa, Americas, Eastern Mediterranean, Europe, South-East Asian, and Western Pacific) together or separately, as well as several global indexes.
  • Native Health Database
    Indexes literature related to the health of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Provided free of charge online by the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center.

Social Science Indexes & Databases

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Indexes the literature in sociology and related disciplines from 1952 - present.
  • PsycINFO
    Indexes the literature in psychology and related disciplines from the 1800s to present.

Interdisciplinary Indexes & Databases

  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    Provides access to the full-text of more than 3,500 periodicals including more than 2,000 scholarly journals. Citations (or abstracts) are provided for an additional 1,500 titles. Coverage of a wide variety of topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences makes it an excellent database for the initial stages of research.
  • CBCA Complete  Icon
    This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
  • Google Scholar
    A subset of regular Google, it allows users to search for articles from all disciplines. Content is heavily skewed towards scholarly and scientific information; however, humanities and social science content is present, as is non-scholarly material.
 

Getting the Full Text

Databases usually only contain information about articles, not the articles themselves. Here are three ways to get the full text of a journal article that you've identified in a database:

  1. Use the Get It @ York button to see if the library has a copy (electronically or in print).
  2. Search for the article in Google Scholar to see if there is a free copy online or use this Google Scholar link to check library subscriptions.
  3. Use RACER (interlibrary loan) to get an electronic copy of the article emailed to you from another university library.
 

RACER Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that's not in our catalogue? Use RACER (our interlibrary loan system) to borrow it from another university library.

Related Subject Guides

For more help, visit a related subject guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip