This is the "Home" page of the "SOSC 1210: Human Rights in a Socio-Legal Context" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOSC 1210: Human Rights in a Socio-Legal Context   Tags: c:all, c:ap/sosc1210  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/SOSC1210 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SOSC 1210

For this assignment you are required to find articles from different types of periodicals which include scholarly, main stream and alternative press periodicals. This guide will help you identify some of the indexes you can search to direct you to the different periodicals. These are suggested indexes that you can search, feel free to explore other periodical indexes that York University Libraries subscribes to.

Other resources that maybe useful for your assignments are:

 

Indexes for finding Academic/Scholarly journals

Although periodical indexes listed in this section can be used mainly for finding academic/scholarly journals, some of these indexes will also list mainstream newspapers and popular magazines. Read the description carefully to see what each index covers. Note: This listing is in no particular order and you should read each database description carefully and choose your index according to your topic.


CBCA Complete

A useful database for researching topics related to Canadian current affairs and public policy. Also useful to search for material on world issues seen from a Canadian perspective. Coverage is from 1982 - present.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. The database includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. Topics include anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.


Canadian Periodical Index

Includes Canadian and international academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in both English and French. All subjects are represented, with an emphasis on Canadian and international issues. Many articles are full text. Coverage is from 1988 - present.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Provides access to the full-text of more than 3,500 periodicals including more than 2,000 scholarly journals. Citations (or abstracts) are provided for an additional 1,500 titles. Coverage of a wide variety of topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences makes it an excellent database for the initial stages of research.

Social Sciences Abstracts

Indexes journals from a wide variety of social science disciplines and interdisciplinary fields. These fields include psychology, sociology, urban studies, etc. Emphasis is on the United States with some international coverage. Coverage is from 1994 - present.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Life with Full Text (via Ebsco)

An index to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 GLBT-specific core periodicals and over 200 GLBT-specific core books and reference works. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as other source-types such as non-fiction books, monographs, bibliographies and speeches.

Women's Studies International

Indexes women's issues including both academic and non-academic materials. Journals and book chapters are indexed as are reports, videos and films, and other sources. International coverage is good. Coverage is from 1972 - present.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Indexes both academic and non-academic materials, including government reports, popular literature and personal writing. International and Canadian sources are indexed and many of the items are full-text. Coverage is from 1992 - present.

Indexes for finding Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Canadian Newsstand - Major Dailies

A searchable full-text database of Canadian daily neswpapers including the Toronto Star and National Post.

Toronto Star - Pages from the Past

Covering 1892-2005, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star. Full text of the Toronto Star Dec. 1894- also available in Scott Microtext (1977- available in Frost Microtext). Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room and Frost Current Periodicals Room

Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844.

Covering 1844-2004, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Globe & Mail.

Full text of the Globe & Mail Nov. 1936- also available in Scott and Frost Microtext (1974- available in Bronfman Microtext). Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Readings Room, Frost Current Periodicals Room and Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.

Factiva

Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and major Canadian newspapers like Globe and Mail, Financial Post, Toronto Star and Winnipeg Free Press.

Alternative Press Index

Indexing to over 500 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text

IIBP Full Text draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology, among others.

Ethnic NewsWatch

A full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journal of the ethnic, minority and native press

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip