These databases are good places to start searching for scholarly (and sometimes popular) articles in psychology.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, dissertations, reports, books, book chapters, and other scholarly documents. The definitive resource in psychology, it indexes literature from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. Coverage is from 1872 - present. Please see the Guide to Using PsycINFO
for more information.
Provides full text access to 50 major psychology journals including all journals published by the American Psychological Association, and 3 Canadian Psychological Association journals. These journals are also indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage is from 1988-present for most journals. Interface allows full text searching across all journals.
- Web of Science
Indexes 8,500 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1945 - present. See Guide to Cited Reference Searching Using Web of Science
for information on how to use Web of Science for cited reference searching.
- Medline (OVID)
Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine. Covers the broad field of biomedicine. Includes indexing in areas such as health psychology and clinical psychology. Coverage is from 1966 - present.
Contains full-text professional and lay-audience literature such as legal testimony and amicus briefs, reports, conference materials, popular magazines, factsheets, grants, and web materials. Comprises an archive of grey literature documenting psychology's development.
The most important index in the field of education, ERIC comprises two sections: published materials (EJ) in the form of references to articles from over 775 education journals; and non-published materials (ED), including research reports, curriculum/teaching guides, and papers. Coverage is from 1966 - to the present.
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes various publication types (articles, books, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, etc).
- Social Sciences Index
Indexes journals from a wide variety of social science disciplines and interdisciplinary fields. These fields include psychology, sociology, urban studies, etc. Emphasis is on the United States with some international coverage. Coverage is from 1994 - present.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Indexes 650 journals from 16 countries. A comprehensive source of social science and health information.
- IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Includes references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected book chapters from 1951 - present.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields including history of psychology. Updated quarterly, the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine covers 1975 to the present.
Site de diffusion de revues universitaires de langue francaise, Érudit compte articles, livres numériques, thèses et quelques centaines de prépublications. L'outil de recherche permet d'interroger l'ensemble de la collection ou certains de ses segments.
Provides multilingual indexing and abstracts of scholarly articles from an international perspective.
Cairn.info recense plus de 150 revues académiques de langue française parus depuis 2001 dans les sciences humaines : économie, histoire, géographie, lettres, linguistique, psychologie, éducation, sciences politiques, société. Les archives sont en accès gratuit, ainsi que les résumés, sommaires et plans d'articles, et le texte intégral de certains articles récents sont aussi disponibles.