Encyclopedias & DictionariesHandbooks & ManualsBiographical Resources
Reading CitationsE-BooksE-Print & Classics ArchivesTheses & DissertationsAssociations & OrganizationsCourse Information
This is the "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology   Tags: s:ap/cogs, s:gl/psyc, s:gs/psyc, s:hh/nurs, s:hh/psyc  

Last Updated: Apr 20, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedias

Psychological encyclopedias are excellent places to start your research.  They are useful for finding basic background information on a topic and are good places to start the research process. Many of them provide short bibliographies in their entries, which leads you to key readings for a particular topic.  

 

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences - Smelser, Neil J.; Baltes, Paul B.
Call Number: Scott Reference H 41 I49 2001 (also online)
Publication Date: 2001
Provides articles on topics in the social sciences. Includes coverage of cognitive science, developmental psychology, social psychology, psychiatry, health studies, gender studies, etc. Online version allows for browsing entries, classified categories, index as well as full-text searching. Includes references.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second ed. - Ramachandran, V. S.
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2012
The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition is a comprehensive three-volume reference source on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions.

Cover Art
Oxford Bibliographies: Psychology [Online]
Publication Date: 2012
Entries containing introductory information about several topics and concepts within the field of psychology. Each entry includes bibliographies of important books, articles and other resources for the particular topic or concept.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology [Online] - Alan E. Kazdin (Editor)
Call Number: BF 31 E552 2000 (Scott Reference / Frost Reference)
ISBN: 9781557981875
Publication Date: 2000
A comprehensive encyclopedia of psychology in eight volumes. Entries include bibliographic references. Note that this link is to volume 1 and volumes 2-8 are available on the same site

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories - Robert W. Rieber (Editor)
Call Number: BF 38 E53 2012 (Scott Stacks)
Publication Date: 2012
This work surveys the range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience.

Cover Art
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences - Wilson, Robert A.; Keil, Frank C.
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 1999
Organized into six domains of cognitive and brain sciences: (1) computational intelligence (2) culture, cognition, and evolution (3) linguistics and language (4) neuroscience (5) philosophy, and (6) psychology.

Cover Art
Psychology Encyclopedias
Additional psychology encyclopedias can be found through the library catalogue

 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries give brief definitions of unfamiliar words, terms and acronyms.

Cover Art
APA Dictionary of Psychology, 2nd edition [Online] - Gary R. VandenBos; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781433819445
Publication Date: 2015
This second edition of a landmark reference resource offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Psychology, 4th edition [Online] - Andrew M. Colman
ISBN: 9780199657681
Publication Date: 2015
Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas. In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions.

Note: Click on "Latest Edition (4 ed.)" in Oxford Reference

Cover Art
Psychology Dictionaries
Additional psychology dictionaries can be found through the library catalogue

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip