Dictionaries & encyclopediasBooksE-Books
Journal ArticlesNewspaper articlesCitation Databases
ThesesData and Statistics
Compiling a BibliographyZotero
This is the "Dictionaries & encyclopedias" page of the "General Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 2, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/general Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Dictionaries & encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries give brief definitions of unfamiliar words, terms and acronyms.

Cover Art
Oxford Reference Online - Oxford University Press
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Cover Art
Oxford English Dictionary
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language ever produced. Includes definitions, quotations, and full etymologies. All are searchable.

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are useful for acquiring basic background information on a topic and are valuable places to start your research.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Call Number: Frost Reference AE 5 E363 2002 v.1-v.32 (also online)
A comprehensive and credible general knowledge encyclopedia. In addition to 72,000 articles on topics in every discipline, the Encyclopedia Britannica Online also provides links to 130,000 websites that have been selected and reviewed by Britannica's editorial board of experts.

Cover Art
Canadian Encyclopedia
The online version of a classic Canadian reference work. Useful for finding basic information on people, themes and events.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip