The library catalogue gives you easy access to the over two million books, journals, electronic resources, audio/video materials, maps and other items at the eight York University Libraries. It includes our eResources, everything in the classic catalogue, YorkSpace, and York Digital Journals, all in one search. Once you have the call numbers, find the section of the library where those types of items are shelved. There is also an advanced search.
Please note that the following videos were made using the previous version of the library website; until they are redone using the new interface, we leave them up in the hopes that you will still find them useful.
The Catalogue: Basic Search
The Catalogue: Advanced Search
Searches library catalogues from 45 countries around the world (more than 10,000 libraries). It contains over 44 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Includes records for books, periodicals, scores, videos, maps, manuscripts, recordings, web sites and provides selected links to libraries holding specific items. Coverage is from 1000 BC - present.
- Books in Print - Global Edition
A searchable database of bibliographic records. This includes books, e-books, audio books, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide.
General Search Tips
If you are looking for a particular author and only using the
first initial, place a wildcard * after the initial. You can search in
natural name order or with surname first.
ex. W* Shakespeare.
Please note that there is no EXACT title searching. You must put
an exact title in quotation marks after selecting a TITLE KEYWORD search
from the dropdown menu.
- Subject Heading Field
When you know the Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH), select the subject field search from the dropdown menu.
- Search Operators
Search operators can be entered in lower or uppercase i.e. they
are case insensitive. Use AND/and to narrow a search and OR/or to
broaden a search.
ex. (China OR India) AND economy
NOTE: the default operator is AND/and. This
means that if there is no Boolean operator between two terms, the
AND/and operator is used automatically (like Google).
- Phrase Searching
Use quotation marks to search for phrases of more than two words. ex. "Corporate social responsibility".
You no longer need to use the dollar symbol ($) or the asterisk
(*) when searching for multiple endings of a word. The system
automatically finds words similar to the one you have searched,
searching plurals and singulars.
- Spelling Hints
The system is searching the closest match based on what can be found in the catalogue, not a dictionary.
- Course Reserves
Select Course Reserves in the drop-down menu and enter either the course code or the instructor's last name.
Example: biol1010, pols 6410, zorn
The following databases focus specifically on book reviews:
- Book Review Digest
Cites and excerpts reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books. The index does not include reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. Coverage of scholarly material is weak. The digest covers approximately 100 popular periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Coverage is from 1983 to the present.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective
Cites and excerpts reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books. The index does not include reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. Coverage of scholarly material is weak. The digest covers approximately 100 popular periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Coverage is 1905 - 1982.
- Book Review Index Plus
This index includes citations from journals published in a variety of academic disciplines including the social sciences, humanities, sciences and fine arts. Over 500 popular, academic, and professional periodicals are included. The content is primarily from the United States, but there is limited coverage of Canadian and British publications as well. Citations are listed under author name. Abstracts are not provided. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
- Canadian Book Review Annual
A collection of authoritative reviews of English-language trade, scholarly, and reference books published in Canada each year.