Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date information on
virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources
since they are often the first published account of an event. York
University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and
many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper,
electronic, or microform.
- Canadian Newsstand
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include Calgary Herald (1988-), Edmonton Journal (1989-), Halifax Daily News (1990-), Montreal Gazette (1985-), National Post (1998-), Ottawa Citizen (1985-), Toronto Star (1985-), Vancouver Sun (1987-)
This index provides access to over 1,000 newspapers including the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. It indexes more than 6,500 magazines, including industry-specific journals and newsletters, 270+ newswires, including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press, 160+ Media Programs, with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and more, 9,000 Web sites in more than 20 languages and more than 20,000 Company Reports.
- Virtual News Library
A full-text database of Canadian news sources in English and French. Major sources include the Chronicle-Herald (Halifax), The Telegram (St. John's), Le Devoir and L'Actualité. Date coverage varies by publication - a complete list is available under advanced search.
- CBCA Current Events
An index to over 50 Canadian newspapers, magazines, newswires and broadcaster transcripts. Also includes some American and British publications that cover current events (e.g. The Economist, U.S. News & World Report).
- Toronto Star (Pages of the Past)
Covering 1892-2012, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star.
- The Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844
Canada's Heritage From 1844" is the electronic full-page newspaper archive of The Globe from June 1844 to The Globe and Mail until 2011.
The following are international Newspaper sources.
- New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2010) from Proquest offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Full text of the New York Times 1851- also available in Scott Microtext. Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room.
- Wall Street Journal. Eastern ed.
The Wall Street Journal (Jan 2 1984-) from Proquest provides indexing and full-text access.
Full text of the Wall Street Journal July 8 1889- also available in Bronfman Microtext. Current issues available in Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Indexing and full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources from around the world. Tutorial
- World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers
"Provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere." [publisher]
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996
Created by the U.S. Intelligence community to provide foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored (and often translated) broadcasts and publications.
Find information and links for newspapers around the world.
- Index Le Monde (print)
Location: Scott Reference (AI 21 .M65)
Coverage: 1985, 1988-2001
Location: Frost Reference (AI 21 .M65)
Full text of Le Monde Dec. 1944-Mar. 2000; May 2000- is available in Frost Microtext. Current issues in Frost Current Periodicals Room.