Last Updated: Sep 30, 2016
Some professional societies
In the catalogue, try searches such as:
A Couple of MOOC/Online Course Providers
Resources for improving techical communication
- Books 24x7 has enourmous resources both on professional development/lifelong learning as topics of interest but also about career and personal development in engineering. There is also lots of information about particular technical or management topics you might be interested in.
- Safari Books includes O'Reilly and other technical ebooks.
- Morgan & Claypool Synthesis
- try searching on: engineering professional development & engineering lifelong learning
I will use the Ford Pinto design issues & recall fiasco from the 1970s as my case study.
First of all, I will use the Wikipedia article to get some basic background information.
Some of the keywords I might use when searching for information include:
- Ford Pinto
- forensic engineering
- failure anaysis
- fuel tank
- cost-benefit analysis
- Books 24x7
A large collection of ebooks in all fields of engineering, computer science and technology
- Synthesis Engineering eBooks
A collection of detailed, high level ebooks on engineering and computer science topics. Suitable for graduate students and advanced undergraduates.
- Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a library of engineering reference books, many of which include live, configurable equations
- Scholars Portal Books
The platform includes material from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, and the Gibson CRKN and Public Policy collection. In addition, there are 200,000 books from the Internet Archives
- Access Engineering
AccessEngineering is a reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to thousands of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference books. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
- Scholars Portal Journals
Database of millions of full text articles across all scholarly disciplines. Very good for inter- and multi-disciplinary topics
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The IEEE Digital Library contains ebooks, journals, conferences and articles relevant for all areas of engineering, computer science and earth and space science.
- ABI/Inform Global
This resource incorporates management, industry and company-specific information of both a practical and theoretical nature. Subjects covered include: finance, public administration, marketing, management, economics,taxation, telecommunications, corporate strategies, competitive and product information.
- New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2005) from Proquest offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Full text of the New York Times 1851- also available in Scott Microtext. Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room.
- Google Scholar
More a search engine than a database, Google Scholar searches the scholarly literature broadly. Use Google Scholar to quickly find known journal articles, view citing articles (useful for citation chaining), and locate free full text copies of journal articles. Make sure that your Google Scholar is connected to York University Libraries by clicking on Settings > Library Links and searching for York University. Visit the Google Scholar Search Tips site
- Inspec (via Engineering Village)
The Inspec database is an invaluable information resource for all scientists and engineers, that contains 13 million abstracts and specialised indexing to the world's quality research literature in the fields of physics and engineering.
- SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library contains ebooks and journals in many areas of engineering and optics.
- Web of Science
Indexes 8,5000 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1945 - present.
Covers nearly 18,000 periodical titles from some 5,000 publishers. Provides coverage in all subject areas with particular strength in the sciences. Coverage is back to 1996. Effective for finding post-1996 cited references for articles.
- Business Source Premier
This databases contains about 8,000 full-text periodicals and other sources, including scholarly journals, trade and general business magazines, country economic and industry reports, industry yearbooks, and market research reports.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides access to documents and records from more than 45,000 legal, news and business sources. Includes comprehensive company and industry reports, patent details, merger and acquisition analysis, bankruptcies, spin-offs SEC filings etc.
- Canadian Newsstand
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include Calgary Herald (1988-), Edmonton Journal (1989-), Halifax Daily News (1990-), Montreal Gazette (1985-), National Post (1998-), Ottawa Citizen (1985-), Toronto Star (1985-), Vancouver Sun (1987-)
- Globe and Mail
Publication coverage: 1836 - Present.
Espacenet is free to use and allows PDF downloads of patent documents. The database includes 60 million patent documents from over 70 countries.
- Canadian Patents Database (CIPO)
Canadian patent records, 1869 to present; full-text documents, 1920 to present.
CIPO allows you to access 93 years of patent descriptions and images and search, retrieve and study more than 2,140,000 patent documents.
- U.S. Patent Database (UPSTO)
U.S. patents, 1790 to present; Published applications, 2001 to present.
Search for download patents for free. Patents before 1976 can be retrieved by number, date and classification. A TIFF viewer is required to view/print patent documents.
- Patent Scope (WIPO)
International patent applications: 1978 to present.
Here you can search 30 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).
- Patent Lens
AU, EP, US and WO patent documents: 1970s to present.
Patent Lens is a free public resource of searchable patents worldwide.
- Google Patents
Google patents includes patents submitted either in the U.S. or European Patents Offices. You can search, read, and view patents using Art Finder.
Online research using blogs, forums, and online communities of all kinds can be useful for understanding your customer and your market. Association websites (ie.. Canadian Diabetes Association) can also have valuable information.
- to find blogs, google your topic + blog, i.e. diabetes blog
- to find forums, google your topic + forum, i.e. diabetes forum
- to find Reddit communities (aka subreddits), google your topic + reddit, i.e. diabetes reddit
- to find association websites, google your topic + association + country, i.e. diabetes association Canada
For more help, visit a related subject guide.
Use one of these citation managers to help you organize your sources. They're both free!