This is the "Main" page of the "STS 3740: Life Sciences in Modern Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

STS 3740: Life Sciences in Modern Society  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/content.php?pid=691672 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Main Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

(Flow of Scientific Information, University of Waterloo, 2007)

 

What kinds of document do scientists and engineers use

  • Peer review: researchers validating each others work before publication
  • Kinds of documents:
    • patents: government granted license to an invention
    • standards: agreed upon methodology: ie 802.11
    • journals: research results presented in a periodical/magazine. Peer reviewed.
    • trade literature: discipline-specific magazines. Not Peer Reviewed.
    • popular press: regular newspapers, magazines, websites. Not peer reviewed.
    • conference proceedings: research results presented at a meeting. Often peer reviewed, but not always.
    • technical report: description of a solution to a specific problem. Not peer reviewed.
    • books
      • reference: encyclopedias, tables, data collections, properties
      • manuals: lab methods, programming languages, operating systems
      • monographs: general topics
    • technical specifications: how a system, device or component works, ie circuit diagrams, software package

Mendeley is the main citation manager for the various science and technology fields.

Zotero is the main citation manager used in the humanities and social sciences.

Websites such as the Citation Machine can be also helpful in setting up references.

 

York's SPARK modules have lots of information about writing, referencing and how to avoid mistakes in attribution. 

 

My topics: Using virtual labs in biology

  • lab experiments web 
  • virtual laboratory and distance learning
  • laboratory and mooc
  • Online labs
  • virtual laboratories
  • web-based laboratories
  • laboratory simulations
  • biology and virtual laboratory
  • biology and laboratory simulations and teaching

Model organisms (list of model organisms)

  • Biology and model organisms
  • model organism and Caenorhabditis elegans

 

Let's generate some keywords for your topics!

 

 

Books

  • York University Library Catalogue
    Contains YUL's book, ebook, and journal holdings.
  • Scholars Portal Books
    The platform includes material from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, and the Gibson CRKN and Public Policy collection. In addition, there are 200,000 books from the Internet Archives
  • Google Books
    The full text of many books is searchable through Google Books. Look up a book here to see if it is worth borrowing or tracking down.

Interdisciplinary Indexes & Databases

  • Scholars Portal
    This resource consists of a single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a variety of disciplines. Choose a subject area or select specific databases to conduct a search.
  • JSTOR
    Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
  • Research Library
    An interdisciplinary database covering a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies. Coverage: 1971 - present.
  • Google Scholar
    A subset of regular Google, it allows users to search for articles from all disciplines. Content is heavily skewed towards scholarly and scientific information; however, humanities and social science content is present, as is non-scholarly material.

Science Indexes & Databases

  • Biological Abstracts
    Indexes over 5200 biological and medical research journals comprehensively. It covers every modern life science discipline including: agriculture, agronomy, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology and the environment, genetics, medicine, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology and zoology.
  • Web of Science
    ndexes 8,500 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal, and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1900 - present.
  • Scopus  
      
    Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It has many articles that are relevant to science and technology studies. Additionally, it provides sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize information through citation mapping.
  • SciFinder
    Scifinder Scholar provides access to the full Chemical Abstracts database from 1907 to the present. The database includes citations to the literature in all branches of chemistry, as well as compound information including structure, chemical names, formulas, CAS Registry Numbers and reaction information for organic, organometallic and biocatalyzed reactions. Commercially available chemical information as well as the listing of regulated chemicals (Chemlist) is included.

Humanities Indexes & Databases

  • History of Science, Technology and Medicine
    Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated quarterly; covers 1975-present.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Includes articles on the History and Philosophy of Science. Coverage is from 1954 - present.
  • Philosophers Index
    Good coverage of philosopy-related aspects of science and technology. Indexes articles, anthologies, book reviews, books and essays in anthologies. It is international in scope and not limited to any one period or culture. Coverage is from 1940 - present.
  • AnthropologyPlus
    Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
  • Abstracts in Anthropology
    Contains a section on medical anthropology. Also, it is a long-standing guide that provides indexing to research of interest to anthropologists in general.

Peer Review

  • Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journals
    York University Libraries' guide to identifying peer-reviewed journals.
  • Ulrich's Web
    Look up a journal in Ulrich's Web to find out if it is peer-reviewed. Note: Ulrich's calls peer-reviewed "refereed."
 

RACER Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that's not in our catalogue? Use RACER (our interlibrary loan system) to borrow it from another university library.

Related Subject Guides

For more help, visit a related subject guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip