Example: James Bay and Great Whale ProjectsKeyword Searching
Web of ScienceEnvironment CompleteScholars Portal E-Journals
Compiling a BibliographyWriting in ScienceAcademic Integrity - How Not To PlagiarizeMendeleyZotero
This is the "Home" page of the "NATS 1810: Energy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NATS 1810: Energy  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/content.php?pid=692508 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

Submit your question by email
 

Finding Sources You Can Trust

 

Topics & Keywords

My project: Three Gorges Dam project in China

Some useful search terms

  • three gorges and impact and environment
  • hydro power and environment
  • china and hydro and impact
  • china and energy and sustainable
  • three gorges and groundwater seepage
  • hydroelectric power and fish
  • hydroelectric power and fish and china
  • three gorges and sturgeon

Some other sites of interest:

 

Statistical Information on Energy

I have a big blog post here with links to a wide variety of data on climate change and energy.

There is also a York Libraries Energy Statistics Guide.

Some other sites that will also be useful:

Most countries have some sort of national statistics office.

Finding Articles & Other Information

  • Scholars Portal
    This resource consists of a single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a variety of disciplines. Choose a subject area or select specific databases to conduct a search.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Engineering-oriented information about electrical systems. Will have information about electrical usage, carbon footprint, etc.
  • Environment Complete
    Environment Complete contains more than 2.6 million records from more than 2,300 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. It offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning.
  • GreenFILE
    This database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
  • ABI/Inform Global
    This resource incorporates management, industry and company-specific information of both a practical and theoretical nature. Subjects covered include: finance, public administration, marketing, management, economics,taxation, telecommunications, corporate strategies, competitive and product information. Useful for following the business/financial/corporate aspects of environmental topics. A database containing citations and abstracts for over 1000 business and management publications. More than 600 of these titles are available in full-text or full-image.
  • Books 24x7
    Full-text electronic republication of hundreds of books covering various topics across all the fields of engineering and technology including the environment and sustainability.
  • Scholars Portal eBooks
    eBooks across all various disciplines, including much on environmental topics. The platform includes various government documents as well as material from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, and the Gibson CRKN and Public Policy collection. In addition, there are 200,000 books from the Internet Archives
  • Canadian Newsstand  Icon
    A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include Calgary Herald (1988-), Edmonton Journal (1989-), Halifax Daily News (1990-), Montreal Gazette (1985-), National Post (1998-), Ottawa Citizen (1985-), Toronto Star (1985-), Vancouver Sun (1987-)
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Contains full text news, legal sources, government information and business information.
 

Need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research? 

Book a free appointment with one of our research specialists.

Visit a research/reference desk at one of the libraries.

Chat online with a research specialist.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip