This is the "Main" page of the "HUMA 1905: Dangerous Visions, Brave New Worlds: The Science Fiction Culture and Our Scientific Age" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HUMA 1905: Dangerous Visions, Brave New Worlds: The Science Fiction Culture and Our Scientific Age  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/content.php?pid=693252 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Main Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

What are scholarly sources? What is peer review?

  • Scholarly sources are journal articles and books that are created by scholars in a particular field to communicate their knowledge and research to other members of their scholarly community
  • Peer review is a kind of quality control for academic books and articles. Before something is published, it is reviewed by a few other scholars in the same or related areas to make sure the work was done to high standards.

Zotero is the main citation manager used in the humanities and social sciences.

Websites such as the Citation Machine can be also helpful in setting up references.

 

York's SPARK modules have lots of information about writing, referencing and how to avoid mistakes in attribution. 

 

My topics: Sex and sexuality in the works of Samuel R. Delany // Unreality in Philip K. Dick's Man in the High Castle

Let's look at some Wikipedia articles! Encyclopedia of Science Fiction!

Some keywords!

  • philip k dick and high castle
  • man in the high castle and (reality or perception or dream or counterfactual or alternate history)
  • science fiction and reality
  • science fiction and alternate history
  • science fiction and world war II
  • alternate history and high castle
  • alternate history and philip k dick
  • delany and triton
  • delany and sex
  • delany and (sex or sexuality or homosexuality)

 

 

 

Books

  • York University Library Catalogue
    Contains YUL's book, ebook, and journal holdings.
  • The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
    A comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
  • Scholars Portal Books
    The platform includes material from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, and the Gibson CRKN and Public Policy collection. In addition, there are 200,000 books from the Internet Archives
  • Google Books
    The full text of many books is searchable through Google Books. Look up a book here to see if it is worth borrowing or tracking down.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    A comprehensive and credible general knowledge encyclopedia.In addition to 72,000 articles on topics in every discipline, the Encyclopedia Britannica Online also provides links to 130,000 websites that have been selected and reviewed by Britannica's editorial board of experts.

General Literary Indexes & Databases

Periodical databases bring together a number of different online journals and other resources into one search engine. Use these discipline-specific tools to find citations, abstracts and/or full text articles, reports and other resources on your literary topic. Both scholarly and popular articles may be included. If you need help, we have a handy guide on how to find journal articles.

  • Scholars Portal Journals
    Almost 9,000 full-text academic journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. Keyword searching to identify articles on different topics is supported.
  • JSTOR
    Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary documents, JSTOR is a trusted sources for academic content.
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
    Covers all aspects of science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction. History, criticism, commentary, fan writings and some reviews are included. Does not include book reviews. Coverage is from 1878 - present.
  • Literature Online
    Contains a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 333 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Contains more than 2 million records for material published in the subject area of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Each year more than 50,000 items are added. It indexes scholarly articles, books and dissertations and is international in scope. Coverage is from 1926 to the present.
  • Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
    Contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
  • Literature Resource Center
    A literature reference database containing biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. Provides information on literary figures writing in such genres as fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. The information is compiled from Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Covers all time periods.
  • Literature Criticism Online
    Provides a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works. Includes scholarly and popular literary commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and journals. Comprised of nine individual Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism.

General Humanities Indexes & Databases

  • History of Science, Technology and Medicine
    Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated quarterly; covers 1975-present.
  • JSTOR
    Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary documents, JSTOR is a trusted sources for academic content.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Includes articles on the History and Philosophy of Science. Coverage is from 1954 - present.
  • Philosophers Index
    Good coverage of philosopy-related aspects of science and technology. Indexes articles, anthologies, book reviews, books and essays in anthologies. It is international in scope and not limited to any one period or culture. Coverage is from 1940 - present.
  • AnthropologyPlus
    Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
  • Abstracts in Anthropology
    Contains a section on medical anthropology. Also, it is a long-standing guide that provides indexing to research of interest to anthropologists in general.

Peer Review

  • Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journals
    York University Libraries' guide to identifying peer-reviewed journals.
  • Ulrich's Web
    Look up a journal in Ulrich's Web to find out if it is peer-reviewed. Note: Ulrich's calls peer-reviewed "refereed."
 

RACER Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that's not in our catalogue? Use RACER (our interlibrary loan system) to borrow it from another university library.

Related Subject Guides

For more help, visit a related subject guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip