This is the "Introduction" page of the "Legal journal indexes and articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal journal indexes and articles  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/content.php?pid=707750 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sharona Brookman

Ask a law librarian

Contact Info

Library
Osgoode Hall Law School of York University
Ignat Kaneff Building
4700 Keele St
Toronto, ON Canada M3J 1P3

Tel:  416-736-5207

library@osgoode.yorku.ca

Links

Off The Shelf Blog

Website

Introduction

When you're researching a topic, a few good journal articles can save you a lot of work.

They can:

  • Give you a good overview of your topic and present different points of view
  • Provide references to relevant primary law (cases and legislation)
  • Provide case commentaries
  • Provide bibliographies that refer you to additional useful resources on your topic

Journal indexes are excellent tools to identify relevant articles. Subject headings assigned  to articles by professional indexers are very useful for fine-tuning your search. An added benefit of using journal indexes is that you can often link directly to the full text of the article.

No single journal index covers everything.  The index you use depends on what you’re looking for, the jurisdiction and how comprehensive you need to be.

This guide will help you:

  • choose the right journal index
  • search journal indexes effectively
  • retrieve the full text of journal articles

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip