(Flow of Scientific Information, University of Waterloo, 2007)
What kinds of document do engineers use
- Peer review: researchers validating each others work before publication
- Kinds of documents:
- patents: government granted license to an invention
- standards: agreed upon methodology: ie 802.11
- journals: research results presented in a periodical/magazine. Peer reviewed.
- trade literature: discipline-specific magazines. Not Peer Reviewed.
- popular press: regular newspapers, magazines, websites. Not peer reviewed.
- conference proceedings: research results presented at a meeting. Often peer reviewed, but not always.
- technical report: description of a solution to a specific problem. Not peer reviewed.
- reference: encyclopedias, tables, data collections, properties
- manuals: lab methods, programming languages, operating systems
- monographs: general topics
- technical specifications: how a system, device or component works, ie circuit diagrams, software package
Keywords for searching on these topics, try restricting to Steacie Stacks only:
- General Design
- Title search on Design
- industrial and design
- engineering design
- Key Book: How products are made : an illustrated guide to product manufacturing – TS 146 H67 — ref section
- General Engineering keywords:
- transportation engineering
- civil engineering
- electrical engineering
- mechanical engineering
- industrial engineering
- aerospace engineering
- User study
- topic areas:
- ethnography for marketers
- usability testing
- design methods / methodology
- consumer behavior
- Try a search on “materials and ” some other keyword
- Key book: Handbook of materials selection — TA 403.4 H368 ref section
- Key book: Encyclopedia of materials : science and technology — TA 402 E53 2001 Ref section
- human factors
- human engineering
- Key book: The measure of man and woman : human factors in design– TA 166 M342 2002 — ref section
- Key book: International encyclopedia of ergonomics and human factors – TA 166 I556 2001 — ref section
- Health and Safety
- Try searching on “health and safety” limited to Steacie
- safety and engineering
- industrial safety
- fire and (prevention or safety)
- accidents and (prevention or safety)
- Environmental Factors
- environmental impact assessment (most books in Scott Library)
- environmental engineering
- Engineering Failure
- forensic engineering
- building failures
- system failures
- materials defects
- technology and risk assessment
- reliability and engineering
- emergency management
For citing works in your presentations/reports, you should use this format:
Journals: . John AB, Wilson BC, Smith CD. The method of referencing. Journal of Energy 2006; 100(1):51-61.
Books: . Bird DE, Kumar EF. The concept of energy planning. 7th ed. Edmonton, Alberta, Canada: Pearson; 2006.
Websites: . David R, John AB, Lawson BC. The art of modeling. Downloaded from: www.modeling.ca (accessed May1, 2012).
Websites such as the Citation Machine can also be helpful in setting up references.
York's SPARK modules have lots of information about writing, referencing and how to avoid mistakes in attribution.
My topics: electricc cars & ground penetrating radar.
Let's generate some ideas and keywords for the electric/hyubrid cars topic!
- Market / Industry Research
- Technical Information
- Case Studies
E-books are listed and linked in the general catalogue. The following e-book packages and titles can also be access as collections.
These databases will allow you to access census and survey data about Canada. They will help you to understand more abuot the market demographic or user population you are interested in.
These database allow you to research specific industries from a business rather than a technical perspective
Engineering & Related Articles
These database provide a wide range of articles, both scholarly and non-scholarly. The databases at the end of the list (Lexis-Nexis, Canadian Newsstand) are newspaper databases where you can research current trends.
Patent Search Engines
Patents are a license from a government to exploit an invention. When you file a patent and it is granted, you are the only one that can use that technology or method in that country. Anyone else that wants to use it must license it from you.
When you are looking to file a patent, the concept of "prior art" is very important. That means that you can't get a patent for something someone else has already invented, even if they didn't patent it.
Online research using blogs, forums, and online communities of all kinds can be useful for understanding your customer and your market. Association websites (ie.. Canadian Diabetes Association) can also have valuable information.
- to find blogs, google your topic + blog, i.e. diabetes blog
- to find forums, google your topic + forum, i.e. diabetes forum
- to find Reddit communities (aka subreddits), google your topic + reddit, i.e. diabetes reddit
- to find association websites, google your topic + association + country, i.e. diabetes association Canada
Use one of these citation managers to help you organize your sources. They're both free!