Factiva - Search Tips
Digital Image Copyright
This is the "Finding Advertisements" page of the "GL/ENSL 3800 Dealing With Viewpoint " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GL/ENSL 3800 Dealing With Viewpoint  

Last Updated: Feb 15, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/ensl3800 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Advertisements Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Advertisements

There are a series of databases available through the library and on the free web that will give you access to ads from recent or older advertising campaigns. Tools like Ad*Access & the Advertising Archives can help you find ads by theme or time period. As we discussed in class, it is important to properly cite the use of these ads in your assignment by attributing the ad to the individual database, website or publication through which you found it.

  • Ad*Access  Icon  Icon
    Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
  • Advertising Archives (UK)
    The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. Individual images can be viewed in preview mode only.
  • Gallery of Graphic Design
    Browsable and searchable collection of images of hundreds of full-page advertisements placed in popular consumer magazines between 1932 and 1969. Possible to browse by product, magazine, advertiser, year, keyword and more.
  • Vintage Ad Browser
    A collection of over 100,000 vintage ads from a variety of sources including coming books, websites, books, magazines and more. Ads may be browsed by category or searched. Ads available as far back as the early 1800s for some subject categories.

Finding Subvertisements

Your go-to source for finding subvertisements or spoof ads is Adbusters, available online or in print at the Scott Library. 

As noted on the Adbusters website, Adbusters images can be used for school reports or papers as long as they are cited properly:

"If you are planning to publish (e.g. a thesis) something containing an Adbusters article or image, then yes, please contact us for permission. If you are interested in using parts of the magazine for school art projects (e.g. collage), reports or papers, then please go ahead. You don’t need to ask us (but thanks for the gesture!), just please cite the images."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip