This is the "Home" page of the "GL/HUMA 2400 Design in Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GL/HUMA 2400 Design in Society   Tags: c:gl/huma2400  

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/huma2400 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

As we discussed in class, the research process is normally recursive. Therefore as you go through the following steps, you should expect to come back to previous steps and repeat with different tools and terms.

Steps to better research:

  • Define your topic using critical words and phrases.
  • Clarify key concepts and related concepts in order to identify subject terms and keywords that will help you narrow your search or meaning.
  • Find background materials that help define the topic and its contexts using, for example, dictionaries or encyclopedias.
  • Find primary sources (images) in books or through online databases or websites. See section on Finding Images
  • Find books on your subject using the Library Catalogue.
  • Find scholarly journal articles on your subject using various databases. See section on Finding Journal Articles.
  • Consider other resources like company or designers' web sites. See Online Resources tab.
  • Evaluate the relevance of the materials you have found by using the PARCA test.
  • Visit the Frost Library for reference assistance or make an appointment with one of the librarians at Frost. You can reach us at frostref@yorku.ca.
 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Modern Design - Jonathan M. Woodham
ISBN: 9780191726767
Publication Date: 2005-02-17
From Art Nouveau to Postmodernism, Benetton to Frank Lloyd Wright, this fascinating dictionary covers the past 150 years of international design, with accessible and succinct entries on ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors, and fashion. Designers and manufacturers feature in a range of biographical entries, and the dictionary's international focus takes in major movements, key concepts, design terminology, and important design institutions, museums, and heritage sites.

Cover Art
The Design History Reader - Rebecca Houze (Editor); Grace Lees-Maffei (Editor)
Call Number: NK 1175 D475 2010
ISBN: 9781847883889
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
The first systematic and comprehensive reader on Design History, this book examines the role of design and designed objects within social and cultural history. Extracts range from the 18th century, when design and manufacture separated, to the present day. Drawn from scholarly and polemical books, research articles, exhibition catalogues, and magazines, the extracts are placed in themed sections, with each section separately introduced and each concluded with an annotated guide to further reading. Covering both primary texts (such as the writings of designers and design reformers) and secondary texts (in the form of key works of design history), the reader provides an essential resource for understanding the history of design, the development of the discipline, and contemporary issues in design history and practice.

Bibliothécaire / Librarian

Profile Image
Stephanie Duncan
Contact Info
Tel: 416-736-2100 ext. 88268
Email: seduncan@yorku.ca
Send Email
 

Evaluation of Information Sources

PARCA Test:

Purpose

Authority

Relevance

Currency

Accuracy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip