This is the "Recommended Resources" page of the "HUMA 3695: Listening to Children" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HUMA 3695: Listening to Children  

Last Updated: Jan 4, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/huma3695 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Recommended Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

 

The following resources will help you with your research for HUMA 3695. Search the indexes and databases to locate scholarly journal articles on your topic. Examine the encyclopedias and dictionaries if you need further background information. For more recommended resources, take a look at our Research Guides.

INDEXES & DATABASES:

Research Library

This interdisciplinary database covers a broad range of subjects, including children, education, humanities, and social sciences, making it a good place to start your search.

Humanities Index

Covers more than 500 journals in the humanities, with materials on archaeology, fine art, classics, communications, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary criticism, music, the performing arts, philosophy, and religion.

Humanities International Index

Covers over 1000 journals in the humanities, including many smaller publications unavailable in other reference sources.

Proquest

Searches more than 50 databases at once, making it ideal for research on obscure or interdisciplinary topics. But be careful, if your topic is broad, you will likely find the search results overwhelming. Before running a search, you can select a relevant Subject Area to narrow your scope.

JSTOR

Includes full-text journals from the arts, humanities, business, and social sciences as well as the natural and life sciences. JSTOR is an excellent source of scholarly journal literature.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS:

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide

Organized geographically, this electronic encyclopedia provides a summary of issues affecting children in countries around the world.

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society

This print encyclopedia takes an interdisciplinary approach to childhood, examining both historical and contemporary issues.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip