Some useful search terms
- carbon footprint
- standby power / vampire power
- embodied energy
- energy intensity
- power rating / appliances
For sample interesting topics to search on, I will investigate the impact on carbon footprint/energy usage for:
- public transit instead of driving
- local food / locavore movement
There is a fair bit of literature dealing with these issues for Canada and even Toronto.
- Scholars Portal
This resource consists of a single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a variety of disciplines. Choose a subject area or select specific databases to conduct a search.
- IEEE Xplore
Engineering-oriented information about electrical systems. Will have information about electrical usage, carbon footprint, etc.
- Environment Complete
Environment Complete contains more than 2.6 million records from more than 2,300 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. It offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning.
This database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
- ABI/Inform Global
This resource incorporates management, industry and company-specific information of both a practical and theoretical nature. Subjects covered include: finance, public administration, marketing, management, economics,taxation, telecommunications, corporate strategies, competitive and product information. Useful for following the business/financial/corporate aspects of environmental topics. A database containing citations and abstracts for over 1000 business and management publications. More than 600 of these titles are available in full-text or full-image.
- Books 24x7
Full-text electronic republication of hundreds of books covering various topics across all the fields of engineering and technology including the environment and sustainability.
- Scholars Portal eBooks
eBooks across all various disciplines, including much on environmental topics. The platform includes various government documents as well as material from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, and the Gibson CRKN and Public Policy collection. In addition, there are 200,000 books from the Internet Archives
- Canadian Newsstand
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include Calgary Herald (1988-), Edmonton Journal (1989-), Halifax Daily News (1990-), Montreal Gazette (1985-), National Post (1998-), Ottawa Citizen (1985-), Toronto Star (1985-), Vancouver Sun (1987-)
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Contains full text news, legal sources, government information and business information.
Some footprint calculators:
Some Recommended Links
Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research?
Book a free appointment with one of our research specialists.
Visit a research/reference desk at one of the libraries.
Chat online with a research specialist.