This is the "Home" page of the "THEA 1110: Introduction to Stagecraft II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

THEA 1110: Introduction to Stagecraft II   Tags: c:all, c:fa/thea1110  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/thea1110 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Kandiuk
Contact Info
416-736-2100 ext. 88890
Send Email
 
 

 

THEA1110 -- Introduction to Stagecraft II

FINDING BOOKS USING THE LIBRARY CATALOG

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Architecture
Art
Clothing and dress
Costume
Costume design
Dress accessories
Fashion
Furniture
Interior architecture
Interior decoration
Masks
Painting
Photography
Scene painting
Stage lighting
Stage machinery
Stage management
Stage props
Theater - Architecture
Theater - Production and direction
Theaters - Construction
Theaters - Sound effects
Theaters - Stage setting and scenery
Theatrical makeup


Use with subheadings such as:
History
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Pictorial works

Use with time periods, movements such as:
Victorian
19th century

Use with country such as:
England
Great Britain

Use name of country with subheading such as:
Social life and customs
History

Also use more specific headings such as:
Architecture, Domestic
Chairs
Dwellings
Hats
Men's clothing
Military uniforms
Shopping Canada Catalogs (to locate Eaton's Catalogue HF 5465 C34 E27 1864+ Special Collections)
Weapons


HANDBOOKS, MANUALS

Gillette, J. Michael. Theatrical Design and Production: An Introduction to Scene Design, Lighting, Sound, Costume, and Makeup. 6th ed. Boston: McGraw-Hill Higher Education, 2008. PN 2085 G5 2008

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Aronson, Joseph, The Encyclopedia of Furniture. New York: Crown Publishers, 1965. NK 2205 A7 1965 Scott Reference

Banham, Joanna. Encyclopedia of Interior Design. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. NK 1165 E48 1997 vol. 1 Scott Reference

Condra, Jill, ed. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through World History. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2008. GT 507 G74 2008 vol. 1 Scott Reference


FINDING ARTICLES USING LIBRARY DATABASES

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
• The Grove Dictionary of Art is the world's first comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes links to approximately 10,000 color images from the world's leading museums, picture libraries, and galleries.

Oxford Reference Online
• Includes over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including the Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts .

Databases

Academic OneFile
• Coverage of a wide variety of topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences makes it an excellent database for the initial stages of research. Includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. Includes full-text.

Art Index
• Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, painting, photography and sculpture. Useful for locating articles for set and costume design

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
• Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

International Bibliography of Art / Bibliography of the History of Art
• This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

British Humanities Index
• Indexes over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as several newspapers published in the UK.

Expanded Academic ASAP
• Provides access to the full-text of more than 3,500 periodicals including more than 2,000 scholarly journals. Citations (or abstracts) are provided for an additional 1,500 titles. Coverage of a wide variety of topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences makes it an excellent database for the initial stages of research.

Humanities Index
• Indexes more than 500 journals in the humanities. Topics include archaeology, fine art, classics, communications, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary criticism, music, the performing arts, philosophy, and religion.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
• A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text
• Indexes academic and popular performing arts (including dance, theatre and film) journals. Flexible searching enables limits by document type, e.g. reviews, essays, notation, or by broad subject categories. Includes many full-text articles.

North American Theatre Online
• Detailed reference information for theatrical figures, plays, theatres, productions and production companies, from Colonial times to the present, in Canada and the United States. Also includes images, playbills, postcards and scrapbooks.

Proquest
• An interdisciplinary database covering a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies. Includes full-text.

Theatre in Video
• Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.


FINDING IMAGES USING LIBRARY DATABASES

ARTstor
• Includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.

WEB RESOURCES

General

A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies (links to websites dealing with a broad range of theatre related topics)
http://www2.stetson.edu/csata/thr_guid.html
Digital Librarian: A Librarian's Choice of the Best on the Web: Performing Arts
http://www.digital-librarian.com/performing.html
Performing Arts Encyclopedia (provided by the Library of Congress)
http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/
Theatre History on the Web (comprehensive list of web resources by period and category)
http://www.videoccasions-nw.com/history/jack.html
The WWW Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama
http://vl-theatre.com/

Museum/Library websites such as:

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Reading Room
http://www.loc.gov/pictures/
Metropolitan Museum of Art
http://www.metmuseum.org/home.asp
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm
V & A Collections
http://www.vam.ac.uk/collections/index.html
V & A Collections: Theatre & Performance
http://www.vam.ac.uk/collections/theatre_performance/

Commercial sites such as:

Bridgeman Art Library
http://www.bridgemanart.com/
An inspiring source of stock photography portraying fine art pieces, renowned masterpieces and little-known gems from private collections. The Bridgeman Art Library offers rights-managed images covering a vast range of paintings, vintage artifacts, etchings and more -- from photos of cave paintings to historic coins, 1920s art deco pictures to more contemporary images from the 1990s.

Terms

Theatrecrafts (glossary of technical theatre terms)
http://www.theatrecrafts.com/glossary/glossary.shtml

Costume

Milieux Costuming Sources (wide range of links to period costumes)
http://www.milieux.com/costume/source.html
The Costumer's Manifesto (guide to costume history with links to articles and illustrations)
http://www.costumes.org/index.php/Costume_History
Elizabethan Costume Page
http://www.elizabethancostume.net/
Fashion-era (site devoted to illustrated pages of fashion history, costume history, clothing, fashions, and social history.)
http://www.fashion-era.com/
Fashion Museum
http://www.fashionmuseum.co.uk/
History of Costume (online version of book by Braun & Scheider)
http://www.siue.edu/COSTUMES/history.html
Makeup-FX (links to sites, a gallery, and guide for creating makeup special effects)
http://www.makeup-fx.com/Indexeng.html
Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute
http://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-museum/museum-departments/curatorial-departments/the-costume-institute
Medieval Clothing Pages
http://www.virtue.to/articles/
Ravensgard Costuming and Textiles Page
http://www.ravensgard.org/gerekr/costume.html
Victoria & Albert Museum: Fashion, Jewellery and Accessories
http://www.vam.ac.uk/collections/fashion/index.html

Stage Machinery

The Development of Scenic Spectacle
http://www1.appstate.edu/orgs/spectacle/index.html

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip