Writing your paperCompiling a BibliographyZotero
This is the "Home" page of the "GL/TRAN 3260 -- Documentacion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GL/TRAN 3260 -- Documentacion   Tags: c:gl/tran3260  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/tran3260 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Process

Library Catalogue

Search for materials in the library catalogue by combining defined subject searches with keyword searches that will look for mentions of the term in the entire bibliographic record.
 
Some relevant subject searches for specialized dictionaries/manuals or documents on translation theory, techniques or translation as a profession include:
 
Grammar, Comparative and general » Spanish Language
Depending on your query, you will often find a variety of print (circulating or reference items) and electronic resources available through the catalogue.For dictionaries or encyclopaedias on particular topics, for example business or human rights follow this pattern: Economics dictionaries, Business dictionaries, etc.

If you are looking for similar resources in Spanish, append the word “Spanish” at the end of the search or use the language facet in the catalogue.

Online Dictionaries

Along with other reference sources, dictionaries, thesauri and glossaries can help one investigate for context and accuracy when working in translation. Here are some recommended sources:

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Diccionario de la lengua española
Eurodicautom
Termium

OECD Glossaries
Unesco Thesaurus

Other Thesauri ERIC, PsycInfo

Scholarly articles

Consult the library research guides to look over recommendations for subject databases to use to find articles in a particular field or in a series of fields. The library research guide for Translation Studies can be found here.

Other useful periodical indexes for translation studies include:Translation studies abstracts; LLBA; MLA; PsychInfo (for psycholinguistics); Sociological Abstracts (for sociolinguistics), and Index Translationum (for finding out which books have been translated).

A few Spanish-language databases that may be of interest include:

Hispanic American Periodicals Index

Contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
See translating and interpreting as a subject.

Prisma

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.

Other useful periodical indexes for translation studies include LLBA, MLA, PsychInfo (for psycholinguistics), Sociological Abstracts (for sociolinguistics), and Index Translationum (for finding out which books have been translated).

 

Newspapers

Factiva is a strong tool to find use of particular terms in newspaper sources. As Factiva provides comprehensive access to a significant amount of subscribable content, this tool can help you access examples of terminology usage in popular publications that may be otherwise difficult to locate. LexisNexis Academic is another option for this kind of content.



Bibliothécaire/ Librarian

Profile Image
Dany Savard
Contact Info
Send Email

Research Subject Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip