GENERAL LIBRARY INFORMATION
- Your YU-card is your library borrowing card. For information about YU-card see: http://www.yorku.ca/yucard/getyourcard.html
- All graduate students receive extended 100 day loan privileges on materials designated for regular loan at the Scott, Steacie, Law and Frost Libraries (excluding the Bronfman Business Library). Unless requested by another borrower, these materials may be renewed twice. Items borrowed on extended loan are subject to recall. Items with more than one hold are loaned for 7 days and are not renewable. Graduate students with extended loan privileges have a loan limit of 80 items.
Request for E-mail Notices
- Complete the request form at this address if you would prefer to have library notices, including alert, availability, bill, overdue and recall notices sent to your e-mail address:
Passport York Account
- Passport York authenticates you as a member of the York community and gives you access to a wide range of Library resources
and services. To use a computer in any of the Libraries you will need a valid Passport York account.
- If you do not yet have a Passport York account, you can:
Log in to http://mms.yorku.ca (using your student number for your username and your date of birth for your password
(in the format YYYYMMDD)), then follow the directions to change your password after the first time you log in.
Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-campus
- To use library eResources (items like indexes, databases and full text electronic journals) from home, you must be a registered York student, staff or faculty member. Students in degree programs will have a Passport York account, and you will authenticate as a York Student with your Passport York username and password.
Alert Services - New Books and E-Resources
- Stay up to date by consulting and/or signing up for RSS feeds with:
New Book Listings
- Printing is available from all computers. Your YU-card is your print/copy card and you can add value at each library (10 cents for black/white printing/copying, 25 cents for colour).
Reciprocal Borrowing at U of T (and elsewhere) http://main.library.utoronto.ca/
- The University of Toronto Libraries does not offer free borrowing privileges or access to Robarts Library stacks to graduate students from other institutions. Borrowing privileges and access to Robarts Library stacks may be purchased by York faculty, staff and graduate students. The University of Toronto now charges a $270 user fee for borrowing privileges for faculty, staff and graduate students of other institutions. Access to Robarts stacks for York graduate students is $20 per year. This fee is being partially subsidized by York University.
- Graduate students are able to borrow directly from many other university libraries across Canada in most cases using only a valid York identification card. For a complete list see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/BorrowRenew/DirectBorrowing.htm
Research Assistant Library Card
- Arrangements may be made for Research Assistants to borrow Library materials on behalf of a faculty member for the regular faculty loan period.
- The libraries make special provision for assigned readings that are expected to be in heavy demand. When requested by an instructor, material is placed on course reserve, i.e., short-term loan. Reserve collections are located at Scott, Business, Frost, Law, Map, Sound and Moving Image and Steacie Libraries. To place an item on reserve complete a Reserve Request card at the appropriate desk or fill out the form available at: http://www.library.yorku.ca/web/ask-services/facultyinstructor-support/places-items-on-reserve/
Resource Sharing/Interlibrary Loan
- Using an interface called RACER researchers can locate materials held by other institutions and request that such materials be transferred to York. Materials eligible for such loans include books, journals, journal articles, theses and dissertations, conference proceedings, microfilm and microfiche, and electronic media. Rare books and archival materials generally are not available this way. Delivery times for book or microform materials vary from two weeks to several weeks. Electronic document delivery arrangements make it possible to obtain journal articles within several days. There is no cost to the borrower for books and microforms. Graduate students receive an unlimited number of free journal article copies. For more information see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/ResourceSharing/ServicesForYork/index.htm
Resources Centres on Campus
- In addition to the York Libraries, there are a number of specialized resource centres on campus. For a full list, select "York Libraries" from the Library Homepage or see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Home/ResearchAndInstruction/yorkresourcecentres
There are several ways to get help:
- Research/Reference desk: available in Scott, Steacie, Bronfman, Law and Frost (Glendon College) Libraries
- Ask a Librarian-Live Chat: allows you to chat with a librarian in real time to get help with your research. Available from library homepage; or see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Home/VirtualReference/askalibrarian.htm
- Ask a question via e-mail. See: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Home/ResearchAndInstruction/AskALibrarian.htm
- Book an individual research consultation with a Liaison Librarian to discuss your research
Liaison Librarians (listed at: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Home/About/ContactSubjectSpecialists.htm):
- Provide individual research consultations
- Select and purchase books, periodicals and electronic resources
- Provide library assignment assistance for TAs
- Provide subject specific Information Literacy classes
- The Libraries offer drop-in workshops tailored to graduate student needs. Graduate students can also subscribe to a workshop listserv for notifications. Subscribe by sending an e-mail to email@example.com with the following message in the body of the e-mail:
SUBSCRIBE LIBRARYWORKSHOPS Lastname Firstname.
For a schedule of workshops see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/binaries/web/workshops
- In support of scholarly publishing by York graduate students the Libraries host events including a speaker series and a website located at http://scholcom.yorku.ca with a section dedicated to supporting graduate students in scholarly authorship and publishing.
Graduate Student Reading Room
- Located in Room 409 Scott Library and requires door access code (refreshed weekly on the Libraries' graduate student web page). Access code is available online through Passport York account and at the Exit Desk, 1st floor, Scott Library (identification required). Includes tables, carrels and lounge seating. The room is fully covered by the AirYork wireless network and all tables have YorkNet connections and electrical outlets. There are also six computers and a printer.
For more information about services for graduate students: go to http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Home/GraduateStudents/
Archives and Special Collections, Rm. 305 Scott Library
- Houses rare books, catalogues raisonnés, Canadian exhibition catalogues, photography books, artists' books. In library use only with restricted hours. All materials are listed in the library catalogue. See http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/ArchivesSpecialCollections/index.htm
- Keyword searching using a Boolean search allows searching under a combination of terms using operators such as 'and' or 'or'
i.e. drawing and renaissance and (italy or italian)
- Subject searching uses controlled vocabulary such as Library of Congress subject headings and database thesauri descriptors.
i.e. drawing - 16th century - italy
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources
- Evaluating print resources
Criteria: author's qualifications, publisher, currency of information, scope and treatment, format, intended audience
- Scholarly vs. popular periodicals
Criteria: authors and audience, format and graphics, language, publishers, purpose, sources, advertising
- Evaluating internet resources
Criteria: currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, purpose (CRAAP Test)
Electronic Resources (Find articles by subject: Art, Architecture and Design)
- Grove Art Online: A comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the 1990s.
- Art dictionaries from Oxford Reference Online
Periodical databases: Subject specific
- Art and Architecture Complete
A leading database for the study of art and architecture, this database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. The database also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
- International Bibliography of Art
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
- Bibliography of the History of Art: This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs.
- Art Index with full text and Art Index Retrospective: Indexes articles and other document types including art reproductions from international publications. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, painting, photography and sculpture.
- Artbibliographies Modern: Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
- Design and Applied Arts Index: Includes architecture, all aspects of design (including industrial), ceramics, glass, jewellery, fashion, illustration, photography, advertising, marketing and craft education, history, and management.
Periodical databases: General & Multidisciplinary
Full-text: Find it @ York, E-books, full-text databases
- Web of Science: Indexes 8,500 research journals across the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Includes most major titles in English, history, classical studies, religious studies, women's studies, and other areas. Search for articles by subject, author, journal, and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1975 - present.
- Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses: Searchable database of U.S. and Canadian dissertations with full-text PDFs available from 1997 onwards.
- ProQuest: A single search screen provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a number of disciplines. Choose a subject area or select Specific Databases to conduct a search.
- Worldcat: Provides access to major research and public library catalogues from 45 countries around the world. Containing more than 45 million bibliographic records, Worldcat is the largest catalogue of research material in existence. Includes records and holding information for books, periodicals, scores, videos, maps, selected manuscript and archival materials, recordings, and selected websites. Extremely useful for compiling comprehensive literature reviews.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Provides reliable information on more than 125,000 academic journals, consumer magazines, conference proceedings, newspapers and other serials worldwide.
- Statistics & Library Data Services:
For assistance on how to access data and support for using electronic data resources for teaching and research contact the Walter Giesbrecht, the Data Librarian, at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Subheading "bibliography" in Library Catalogue
- Image databanks:
ARTstor: A rich digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. Also includes includes 28,000 images from the Archivision Digital Research Library covering important works worldwide in the history of architecture, landscape architecture and public art.
- Music, Films & Videos: go to the Libraries Homepage and do a Keyword search for your topic. On the Results page under Format select VHS, DVD, Audio Compact Disc, Film or Score.
- A Short Guide to Writing About Art N 7476 B37 2011 Scott
- Writing About Art N 7476 S29 2006 Scott
- For a selected list of general titles online see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/ScottReference/reference/index.htm
- Online citation management software for searching and managing hundreds of bibliographic citations. Accessible to York students at no charge anywhere with Internet access. For more information about Refworks and Refworks workshops see: http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Home/ResearchAndInstruction/citationmgmt/index
- Scholar : Indexes numerous archives of scholarly publishers and hosts for scholarly literature. In addition Google Scholar can be used to find similar items (on the same topic), fee-based document delivery services from the British Library, for citation searching and having Google (the regular version) run a search for the article.
- Books : A resource for searching the full-text of books and viewing one or two pages of relevant text, even in recently published books. Many nineteenth-century books are also available for download as PDFs.
Citation searching (for citation data and journal impact factor)
Conference Proceedings (Print)
- Directory of Published Conference Proceedings
Keeping Current with the Scholarly Literature
- Current awareness alerts: Scholars Portal (Alert service allows researchers to receive emailed copies of articles on a particular topic as the articles are added to the database. To gain access to the service, users must first set up a personal account.)
- RSS feeds: Web feed format used to publish and distribute frequently updated content such as headlines, update notices and sometimes content. Available from major news organizations like the New York Times, research databases (Web of Science) and blogs. For more information see: Make Information Come to You! The Power of RSS Feeds at http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/Steacie/rss-feeds
- Open Access and Scholarly Publishing: The open access model in scholarly publishing is a cost-effective way to disseminate research. This model, made possible by new technologies, is an alternative to subscription-based publishing which allows peer-reviewed research to be made freely available on the public Internet for the purposes of education and research. Authors retain control over their work and have the right to post their scholarship on institutional or disciplinary servers, or transfer to publishers the right to make their work freely available on the web.