Word to PDF conversion
This is the "Home" page of the "YorkSpace Resource Site" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

YorkSpace Resource Site  

Last Updated: Nov 27, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/yorkspace Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recently added to YorkSpace

Loading Loading...
blank padding

yorkspace

Welcome to the YorkSpace Resource Site. This page links to background information about YorkSpace, policy documents, instructional guides, videos, and documents for YorkSpace users. Please email diginit@yorku.ca with your questions.

Introduction to YorkSpace

YorkSpace is an open access repository of digital objects. It is a platform that enables York community members to post, organize and preserve their research online in an institutional context. Each submission must be accompanied by a digital object that can be made available to the York and global scholarly community permanently without access restrictions

YorkSpace showcases the scholarship of the York University community through the use of a special standards-based software platform that collects usage statistics and promotes visibility on the web.

YorkSpace data is collected by harvesters world wide which also promote discovery of content. York University Libraries can help you benefit from added visibility in YorkSpace by providing an account which you can use to sign in and deposit your work directly. 

YorkSpace Deposit Policy

Please note that YorkSpace deposit is open to York University staff, faculty, librarians, and affiliated researchers. Peer reviewed work by graduate students-items such as conference papers/presentations, published articles, major research papers (MRPs), and theses-may be deposited. As an exception, faculty-sponsored collections of undergraduate works may be permitted. (Policy last reviewed and updated May 2011.)

Steps to a YorkSpace Deposit

  1. Verify whether you have the right to deposit your work.
  2. Convert your work to an open format if possible.
    • For example, convert your Microsoft Word documents to PDF. Open formats are easier to preserve in the long term as they are not encumbered by any copyrights, patents, trademarks or other restrictions.
  3. Log into YorkSpace, select the collection where you would like to deposit your work, and click on the “Submit a new item to this collection” link. YorkSpace will guide you through the deposit step by step.
    • To be able to deposit, you must register with YorkSpace and contact diginit@yorku.ca to have the necessary permissions assigned to your account.
    • Here is a set of images that illustrate how to log in and get started with a YorkSpace deposit.

Instructional Videos

Supporting Documentation

  • Copyright Clearance Checklist
    This checklist helps to guide users through the copyright verification process and may be used as a supplementary aid to the Template for published works.
  • Template for published works
    This is a worksheet that can be used to help organize and collect information to describe the published item that you would like to deposit into YorkSpace. This template is for published items such as articles and book chapters.
  • Template for unpublished works
    This is a worksheet that can be used to help organize and collect information that describes the item that you would like to deposit into YorkSpace. This checklist is for unpublished items such as grey literature and white papers.

If your item is unpublished:

As the creator of a work, you are automatically the copyright owner. If your work is unpublished and you have not signed a contract with a third party, you are free to deposit your work into YorkSpace. Note that by depositing your work in YorkSpace you are giving York University the non-exclusive right to make available your content on the web.

If you foresee publishing a substantially similar version of your work in the future, it is recommended to hold off on submitting your work to YorkSpace as publishers seek to be the site of the first publication of a work. At the publisher's discretion, posting your work to YorkSpace, or online in general, may be interpreted as a form of 'publishing' on the web.

If your item is a published journal article:

Do you have permissions to deposit your published journal articles in YorkSpace? In many cases, the answer is yes – but with some restrictions.

Note: In the case of items with multiple authors, if the publisher allows self-archiving, each author is entitled to deposit the work in his/her own institutional repository.

To verify whether you are able to deposit your work, several options are suggested:

(a) Look up your journal or publisher in Sherpa/Romeo or Oaklist

Sherpa/Romeo and Oaklist compile publisher policies and outline the restrictions for self-archiving. Here is an example of a publisher policy listed in Sherpa/Romeo.

The restrictions listed in Sherpa/Romeo at times can at times be ambiguous. Here is a guide for interpreting the restrictions listed on this site.

Here is a link to a video demonstration of using the Sherpa/Romeo site in the verification process:

(b) Find the official web site for the journal, and look under the pages that provide information to authors. Often there will be information outlining author self-archiving rights.

The Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory is a very helpful tool for locating journal web sites.

(c) Locate your original signed copyright transfer agreements

If you are able to locate a copy of your agreement, it will likely spell out whether or not you have the right to self archive (deposit your work on an institution’s server). If the contract is ambiguous to interpret, it may be easier to try option (a) above.

(d) Contact the publisher to request permission to self-archive your work

Note that it is worth sending a quick request for permission to self-archive, even if the publisher website clearly states that self archiving is not allowed. In may cases, authors receive a positive response.

The Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory is a very helpful tool for locating journal web sites and contact information.

Other published works

It is likely that locating the copyright transfer agreements in this case will not be as helpful, as the resources supporting self-archiving have concentrated on journal articles.

For published material other than scholarly articles, contact the publisher directly for permission.

If the item is an entire book, you may be more successful in securing the rights to make available a single chapter, in lieu of the entire work. Securing rights for a book chapter is well worth it, as our largest traffic item in YorkSpace is a book chapter.

Glossary

Self-archiving: The act of depositing one’s work in an institutional or subject-based repository. York’s institutional repository is called YorkSpace.

Pre-print: Applicable to published works. A pre-print is your original manuscript as submitted to the publisher prior to any changes being made as a result of the peer-review process.

Post-print: Applicable to published works. A post-print is your edited manuscript with peer-review comments integrated. It can refer to either the final version of your manuscript as accepted by the publisher, or the final copyedited and formatted version of your manuscript.

YorkSpace is the York University institutinal repository (IR). An IR collects, preserves, and disseminates the intellectual output of an institution in digital form. Institutional repositories are accessible to end users both within and outside of the institution, ideally with no barriers to access.

The York University Libraries institutional repository project ( YorkSpace) is a partnership between York University communities and the York University Libraries. YorkSpace content consists of collections produced by York University communities. These collections are managed, preserved and made accessible by the York University Library through DSpace software.

All of the collections will be subject to the YorkSpace Content Guidelines. As in all partnerships, it is important that all Institutional Repository stakeholders understand and agree to the policies, guidelines and procedures required to build an institutional repository.

YorkSpace Non-Exclusive Distribution License

By signing and submitting this license, you (the author(s) or copyright owner) grants to York University the non-exclusive right to reproduce, translate (as defined below), and/or distribute your submission (including the abstract) worldwide in print and electronic format and in any medium, including but not limited to audio or video.

Yorkspace and your use of Yorkspace is governed by the terms and conditions of the York University website posted at: http://www.yorku.ca/web/about_yorku/privacy.html

You agree that York University may, without changing the content, translate the submission to any medium or format for the purpose of preservation.

You also agree that York University may keep more than one copy of this submission for purposes of security, back-up and preservation.

You represent that the submission is your original work, and that you have the right to grant the rights contained in this license. You also represent that your submission does not, to the best of your knowledge, infringe upon anyone’s copyright.

If the submission contains material for which you do not hold copyright, you represent that you have obtained the unrestricted permission of the copyright owner to grant York University the rights required by this license, and that such third-party owned material is clearly identified and acknowledged within the text or content of the submission.

IF THE SUBMISSION IS BASED UPON WORK THAT HAS BEEN SPONSORED OR SUPPORTED BY AN AGENCY OR ORGANIZATION OTHER THAN YORK UNIVERSITY, YOU REPRESENT THAT YOU HAVE FULFILLED ANY RIGHT OF REVIEW OR OTHER OBLIGATIONS REQUIRED BY SUCH CONTRACT OR AGREEMENT.

York University will clearly identify your name(s) as the author(s) or owner(s) of the submission, and will not make any alteration, other than as allowed by this license, to your submission.

Increased Visibility
Your work is more visible and accessible when submitted to YorkSpace. Institutional repositories such as YorkSpace are preferentially ranked by Google, which ensures more of your peers will find and cite your work. In addition, YorkSpace is harvested by OAI metadata harvesters and Google Scholar, which also dramatically increases visibility.
 
Reliability and Stability
YorkSpace assures the stability of your work’s location online (no broken links!) by using Handle System technology. In addition, your data will be stored in a secure and backed-up server environment. York University Libraries will take the necessary steps to preserve your work for the long term.
 
Comprehensiveness
YorkSpace supports a variety of formats which enables you to give context to your work. You are encouraged to deposit not just the finished work but related materials (including data, images, audio and video files, etc.) as well.
 
Scholarly Context
YorkSpace places your work in the larger context of the York University scholarly environment.
 
Authors Retain Copyright
YorkSpace uses a non-exclusive distribution license, which allows authors to retain their copyright.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip