Canadian Major Dailies
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include:
Calgary Herald (1988-)
Edmonton Journal (1989-)
Globe & Mail (1977-)
Halifax Daily News (1990-)
Montreal Gazette (1985-)
National Post (1998-)
Ottawa Citizen (1985-)
Toronto Star (1985-)
Vancouver Sun (1987-)
Select the Publications tab for a full listing. There may be a 2 - 7 day delay for the most recent issues.
Canadian Business & Current Events (CBCA)
A useful database that covers a wide range of Canadian periodicals, academic titles, special interest publications, and general magazines. Full-text coverage is from 1988 - present. Indexed coverage is from 1972 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Limited Canadian content; coverage varies - a complete list is available.
Eureka.cc A searchable full-text database of Canadian news sources in English and French. Major sources include The Toronto Star, CBC, La Presse and Le Devoir. Also allows searching of lead (i.e. first two paragraphs), title and byline. Date coverage varies depending on the publication.
Factiva (user guide)
Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and the following major Canadian newspapers:
Globe & Mail (Nov 1977-)
Financial Post (1990-) and the National Post (1998-)
Toronto Star (1986-)
Winnipeg Free Press (Aug 6 1991-)
La Presse Canadienne (1999-)
The Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers(printing instructions)
Covering 1844-2020, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Globe & Mail. Full text of the Globe & Mail Nov. 1936- also available in Scott and Frost Microtext (1974- available in Bronfman Microtext). Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Readings Room, Frost Current Periodicals Room and Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.
Nexis Uni
Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and many Canadian newspapers, newswires and transcript services including:
Globe & Mail
Calgary Sun
Financial Post and National Post
Ottawa Sun
Toronto Star
Toronto Sun
Paper of Record
An historical archive of full-page newspaper images that includes fifty English-language 18th and 19th century newspapers, plus a selection of French-language sources.
Press Reader
Full issues of thousands of international newspapers and magazines.
Toronto Star: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (printing instructions)
Covering 1894-2021, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star. Full text of the Toronto Star Dec. 1894- also available in Scott Microtext (1977- available in Frost Microtext). Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room and Frost Current Periodicals Room.
