ORGS 2200 - Organizations And Their Environments: Corporate Social Responsibility

Set up VPN to access this resource off campus (follow the instructions on http://staff.computing.yorku.ca/internet-access/secure-remote-access/). This database rates companies on environmental, social and governance performance (ESG) while also including commentary and qualitative analysis of company performance, e.g. policies and programs in effect and controversy reports for for each company. Comparative reports on company ESG ratings are also available. For historical data for 2009-present for the TSX and US Top 1000 are available upon request.. Use command CRTL+F5 if having trouble downloading report on campus.

Available at the Bronfman Business Library. Use ESG command

Part III of Dirt Diggers Digest Guide to Strategic Corporate Research (for U.S. based corporations)

From the Boston College Center for Corporate Citizenship. It is a free publication, but the user must sign up to view it.

A free online directory of corporate responsibility reports, past and present, making it the primary reference point for CR reports and resources worldwide. Registration is required to access the free reports.

"The Center monitors the environmental, social, and governance dimensions of business. We conduct primary research related to your practice and also scan the broader literature to evaluate, select, and deliver the knowledge assets that will be most valuable to you on a regular basis."

Browse various topics under the Resource Library.

"NBS identified 13 sustainability programs, across four sectors, led by Canadian industry associations in June 2012. These programs are profiled in this guide."

"Sustainability and climate change - the 'next big thing'."

An independent non-profit working globally with business, government and other organisations to solve complex sustainability challenges.

An index of publications on Canadian research and activities in the area of business ethics, broadly construed (CSR, governance, sustainability, SRI, etc.).

The integration of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) practices and principles into business operations can help companies realize innovation and competitiveness benefits. This CSR Tool Kit for business provides practical guidance on why and how to integrate sustainability-oriented practices into business operations. Themes include: governance, decision-making, human resources, purchasing and marketing.

"An action-tank that brings together students, company leaders and faculty to redefine business and create a sustainable future."

Claims to serve as an unbiased source of information and resources on ecotourism and responsible travel, and seek to promote a well-researched message about what ecotourism stands for.

" The coalition’s main focus is on building the Higg Index, a standardized supply chain measurement tool for all industry participants to understand the environmental and social and labor impacts of making and selling their products and services. By measuring sustainability performance, the industry can address inefficiencies, resolve damaging practices, and achieve the environmental and social transparency that consumers are starting to demand."

Includes greenest companies in America.

Find third party research reports on Canadian and American publicly-traded companies through Sustainalytics.

The Search area provides users access to all types of sustainability reports.The Benchmark tool allows users to compare the levels of disclosure among reports that use GRI’s Framework, facilitated by filter options for Region and Sector.

This is a useful web site for searching sustainability/CSR corporate reports and provides a searchable database of reports for over 10,000 companies globally. Sign up required.

A summary of results based on a survey of
the GreenBiz Intelligence Panel, consisting of executives and
thought leaders in the area of risk identification and management.

Each year through its Giving in Numbers Survey, CECP collects and reports data on numerous aspects of corporate giving programs around the world. Launched in 2001, the dataset now features more than $250 billion in corporate giving data.

Annual awards for corporate responsibility (CR) reporting developed to identify and acknowledge excellence in reporting.