LibGuides: Gender & Women's Studies/ Études des femmes et du genre (GL/GWST): Background Information

Online Reference Collections

Britannica Online (Academic)
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate English Dictionary. Written by experts (i.e., historians, professors and researchers).
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Features curated lists of trusted academic sources (i.e. articles, books, etc.). Written by experts and continuously updated.
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects
Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions published by Oxford University Press. Includes short and in-depth overviews. Written by experts.
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects
Oxford Very Short Introductions
These eBooks provide concise introductions to a wide range of subjects. Written by experts, they summarize challenging topics. They are very readable and intended to develop core knowledge.
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects
Sage Research Methods
Designed to support research at all levels. Features Sage e-books, case studies, journal articles, and instructional videos. Intended to help researchers find the best research techniques.
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects

What Are Reference Resources?

Reference resources offer a great starting point for your research. Many provide brief overviews of a topic, definitions and facts (e.g., Oxford Very Short Introductions).

Examples include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals.

Background Research

Reference resources can help you gain a better understanding of your topic. They can clarify complex terminology, like jargon unique to a field of study.

Databases only bring back results containing the words you use in your search. To find useful sources, select precise keywords that best reflect your topic.