LibGuides: STS 5010 Thesis Research and Writing Lab: Articles and Books

Peer Reviewed / Scholarly Articles

Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journals
York University Libraries' guide to identifying peer-reviewed journals.
Ulrich's Web
Look up a journal in Ulrich's Web to find out if it is peer-reviewed. Note: Ulrich's calls peer-reviewed "refereed."

Science Indexes & Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. Further, with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research, Scopus empowers you to advance your science beyond the text. For tutorials see Scopus Help.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. See WoS libguide & training
Web of Science Core Collection includes over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books. More information

STS Databases

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated quarterly; covers 1975-present.
History of Science Society
The History of Science Society is the world's largest society dedicated to understanding science, technology, medicine, and their interactions with society in historical context. Over 3,000 individual and institutional members across the world support the Society's mission to foster interest in the history of science and its social and cultural relations. (FROM THEIR SITE)
Historical Abstracts
Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Includes articles on the History and Philosophy of Science. Coverage is from 1954 - present.
Philosophers Index
Good coverage of philosopy-related aspects of science and technology. Indexes articles, anthologies, book reviews, books and essays in anthologies. It is international in scope and not limited to any one period or culture. Coverage is from 1940 - present.

Interdisciplinary Indexes & Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books and primary sources in 75 disciplines. See JSTOR Help page for more tutorials.
You can also search the captions of images within items in the database. To search for content with images use the “caption” option on the drop-down menu on the Advanced Search page. Creating permalinks to articles in JSTOR
Applied Science and Technology Index This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Index provides indexing for hundreds of peer-reviewed journals covering a wide variety of interdisciplinary applied science fields, including civil engineering, aeronautics, computers and informatics. More information.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.
CBCA Reference & Current Events : Business This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of Canadian topics including the areas of business and current affairs. Offers references, and many full text articles, from Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers, and newswires. Dates of coverage vary by title but some full-text titles are available back to the early or mid-1980s, while citations for many publications are available from the early 1970s onward. More about this CBCA database (ProQuest).
Creating permalinks to articles in CBCA Reference (ProQuest).
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.

Scholars Portal
This resource consists of a single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a variety of disciplines. Choose a subject area or select specific databases to conduct a search.
Google Scholar
A subset of regular Google, it allows users to search for articles from all disciplines. Content is heavily skewed towards scholarly and scientific information; however, humanities and social science content is present, as is non-scholarly material.

Books

Omni All-in-One Search
Contains YUL's book, ebook, and journal holdings.
Omni Search Guide

Omni Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that's not in our catalogue? Use Omni Interlibrary Loan (our interlibrary loan system) to borrow it from another university library.

Is it good information? Or is it CRAAP?

PARCA Test

Do not take everything you read for its face value, always apply the CRAAP/PARCA test.

Currency: How current is the resource?

Relevance: Does the resource meet your needs?

Authority: Who wrote/produced/published the resource?

Accuracy: Is the information in the resource reliable?

Purpose: Why does this resource exist?

Librarian Contact

Minglu Wang

Email Me

Contact:

102J Steacie Science and Engineering Library

(416)736-2100 ext 40075