Social Sciences: Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Designed for students and nonspecialists, the Dictionary of the Social Sciences serves to orient readers to the concepts, theories, methodologies, schools of thought, and individuals that define classic and contemporary scholarship in the social sciences. Offering jargon-free definitions of key terms across a wide spectrum of separate, but interconnected, disciplines, the dictionary features more than 1,500 entries ranging in length from 50 to 500 words and covers the vocabularies of anthropology, cultural studies, economics, human geography, political science, sociology, and numerous other important fields within this arena. Readers are advised that the social sciences are not covered equally in this volume - for example, law is not included, and history and psychology are treated more selectively than economics, politics, and sociology. Given the more general nature of this publication, readers will need to supplement their use of it with additional and more specialized dictionaries.

This resource contains articles on important twentieth-century social schools of thought, concepts and movements. Definitions are also provided and each article includes a list of references.

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

This social science dictionary has 1000 entries covering the disciplines of sociology, criminology, political science and women's study with a commitment to Canadian examples and events and names. Produced by Athabasca University and ICAAP.

The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language ever produced. Includes definitions, quotations, and full etymologies. All are searchable.

Available both online and in print this resource contains comprehensive articles relating to the social sciences (anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, sociology, history, geography, law, education, philosophy, linguistics etc.). Includes biographies of important social science theorists. Each entry concludes with a bibliography on each topic.

This Encyclopedia provides readers with authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Organized alphabetically, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques. Written to be accessible to general readers, the Encyclopedia entries do not require advanced knowledge of mathematics or statistics to understand the purposes or basic principles of any of the methods. To accomplish this goal, there are two major types of entries: definitions consisting of a paragraph or two to provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays that discuss the nature, history, applications, and implications of using a certain method, including suggested readings and references.

More of a dictionary than an encyclopedia, this one-volume paperback comprises 600 entries, which reflect recent developments and approaches in the social sciences, e.g., feminism, postmodernism, sociobiology, environmental and evolutionary economics, and cultural studies. Contributors, mostly scholars from the United Kingdom and the United States, are aiming at an audience of scholars and social scientists who need a handy desk reference for quick overviews of terms, concepts, movements, and individuals from disciplines outside or adjoining their own fields.

A comprehensive and credible general knowledge encyclopedia. In addition to 72,000 articles on topics in every discipline, the Encyclopedia Britannica Online also provides links to 130,000 websites that have been selected and reviewed by Britannica's editorial board of experts.

The online version of a classic Canadian reference work. Useful for finding basic information on people, themes and events.