Astronomy: Data

Collects fundamental formulae in physics and astrophysics.
Call Number: Steacie QB 461 L36 1999

A comprehensive handbook of constants, properties, and data for every branch of science.

Maintained by the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS).

Contains optical data. Available online and in print.
Call Number: Steacie QC 369 H35 2010

A searchable collection of handbooks on science and engineering topics. Trying using the Data Search.

Contains integral tables and mathematical functions useful to physics students.

Searchable data collections from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) covering physical constants, spectroscopy data, radiation dosimetry, and other reference data.

“The Particle Data Group is an international collaboration charged with summarizing Particle Physics, as well as related areas of Cosmology and Astrophysics. In 2008, the PDG consists of 170 authors from 108 institutions in 20 countries. The Review includes a compilation and evaluation of measurements of the properties of the elementary particles.”

A database of references for thermochemical and thermophysical properties of chemical substances. Points to the print or web resource in which the property in question may be found.

Provides access to astronomical data products. Maintained by the National Research Council.

“An interactive table and plotter for exploring and displaying data from the Exoplanet Orbit Database, which is a compliation of quality spectroscopic orbital parameters of exoplanets orbiting normal stars.” Maintained by the California Planet Survey consortium.

“The IAU Circulars (IAUCs), published by the Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams (CBAT), officially announce new discoveries of supernovae, novae, comets, satellites of major/minor planets, and other interesting transient astronomical objects (particularly those that are unusual, such as cataclysmic variables that have outbursts less frequently than once every year or two, or very unusual variable stars or non-stellar objects discovered at optical or non-optical wavelengths.”

“Curates the science products of NASA’s infrared and submillimeter missions, including many large-area and all-sky surveys.” Maintained by the Infrared Processing and Analysis Centre (IPAC) at Caltech.

Archives and serves public data from the W. M. Keck Observatory. Maintained by NExSci and the W. M. Keck Observatory.

“The world's largest database of cross-correlated multi-wavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic fusion of information integrated from hundred of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies.” Maintained by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at Caltech.

“An online astronomical exoplanet and stellar catalog and data service that collates and cross-correlates astronomical data and information on exoplanets and their host stars and provides tools to work with these data.” Maintained at Caltech by NExSci.

“Distributes data from a worldwide network of neutron monitors, used to record variations in primary cosmic rays.” Maintained by a group of scientists from across Europe.

“Archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.” Maintained by the Goddard Space Flight Centre.

A database of astronomical objects outside the solar system. Maintained by the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS).

Distributes data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, which has created the most detailed three-dimensional maps of the Universe ever made. Maintained by the Astrophysical Research Consortium.

Solar data and images.

Browse images of the sun taken from the SDO.

Download JHelioviewer for increased performance for viewing SDO data.

A collection of over 12,000 astronomical catalogues and data tables. Maintained by the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS).

An interactive sky atlas used to visualize astronomical images. Maintained by the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS).

“An interactive graphical viewer and editor for tabular data.” Maintained by Mark Taylor of Bristol University.

“Allows astronomers to efficiently cross-identify sources between very large catalogues (up to 1 billion rows) or between a user-uploaded list of positions and a large catalogue.” Maintained by the Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS).

“Allows users to create mosaics of 2MASS, SDSS, or DSS data for any covered region of the sky.” Maintained by the NASA/IPAC Infrared Science Archive.

International Virtual Observatory Alliance

Telescope Data Centre of the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory