Philosophy: Introductory Texts

This book introduces the reader to all the main problems of contemporary philosophy by posing a number of questions and addressing them from a variety of philosophical perspectives. Ultimately the text demonstrates how a philosophical approach to contemporary issues can help improve one's ability to reason.

The 6th edition of this text incorporates an expanded discussion of continental and analytic philosophy, theories of justice, and feminism, while continuing to provide a comprehensive overview of older philosophical traditions.

This short book offers an overview of early philosophy from the presocratics through to Aristotle with an eye to contemporary themes and issues.

The second volume in Anthony Kenny's A New History of Western Philosophy, this book charts the evolution of Christian, Islamic and Jewish philosophy from the fall of the Roman Empire through to the Renaissance.

This book is described as ideal for students coming to the topic for the first time. Beginning with Kant, this book tracks the developments of continental philosophy as it examines fundamental questions in philosophy such as ethics, humanism, phenomenology, politics and metaphysics.

Long considered one of the most challenging fields in philosophy, this book provides a comprehensive overview by providing practical examples as it draws on both contemporary and classical philosophy.

This book introduces a number of key topics in the field and includes new chapters on time and causation. Contemporary views are discussed with references to classical sources in the history of philosophy and examples are provided to clarify difficult concepts.

This book introduces the field of epistemology by explaining the concepts and theories central to our understanding of knowledge. Emerging areas of research are considered as the author places them in their wider historical and intellectual context.

Provides a comprehensive introduction to phenomenology by introducing the reader to the thought of Brentano, Husserl, Heidegger, Gadamer, Arendt, Levinas, Sartre, Merleau-Ponty and Derrida.

This book provides a basic introduction to moral philosophy and ethical reasoning as it addresses a range of topics and issues such as racism, abortion, natural law theory, sexual morality, and human rights.

This book provides a thorough survey of contemporary aesthetics by considering a wide variety of topics including the evaluation of art, the interpretation of art, and forms of art such as literature, movies, dance, and music.

Here the reader will encounter a concise account of existentialism's key themes, such as individuality, free will, and personal responsibility, as the author introduces the work of key thinkers including Sartre, Nietzsche, Heidegger, Kierkegaard, de Beauvoir, Merleau-Ponty, and Camus.

This book considers new questions arising at the intersection of philosophy and theology that until recently were considered beyond the boundaries of philosophical consideration. Although mostly concerned with the Christian religion, the book's final section deals specifically with Jewish, Islamic, and Chinese philosophical theology.

This book provides a current introduction to the field by grappling with a number of key ethical problems around topics such as supervenience, genocentrism, genetic determinism, as well as the major tenets central to contemporary thinking about macroevolution.

With a focus on traditional mainstream European philosophy, this book provides an overview of fifty seminal thinkers from the ancient, medieval and modern world. Includes a glossary and suggestions for further reading.

This biographical dictionary provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century. The scope of the work is not merely restricted to the major figures in western philosophy but also covers in depth a significant number of thinkers from the near and far east and from the non-European Hispanic-language communities.