Skip to Main Content
U.K. & Ireland
- Factiva (user guide)
Indexing and full-text access to hundreds of international newspapers and over 15 major newspapers and news services from the United Kingdom. To check coverage for a particular publication, search the publications database.
- The Guardian (Manchester)
Indexing for The Guardian available from the following sources:
- Factiva (user guide)
Coverage: Indexing and full-text Jan 1982-
- Print indexes to The Guardian covering 1929-1945, 1987- available in Scott Reference (AI 21 .G83, AI 21 .G833)
- Irish Times
- Nexis Uni
Indexing and full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources from around the world.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers
"The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection." [publisher]
- PressReader
Full issues of thousands of international newspapers and magazines.
- The Times (London)
Indexing for The Times available from the following sources:
- Times Digital Archive
Coverage: Indexing and full-text 1785-1985
- Factiva (user guide)
Coverage: Indexing and full-text Jan 1981-
- Print indexes to The Times covering 1785- available in Scott Reference (AI 21 .T45, AI 21 .T46)
- Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900
Brings together information about 50 000 English newspapers and serial publications from thousands of secondary sources. Useful for discovering: periodicals originating from, or focusing on, particular regions of, or institutions in, England; what periodicals dealt with particular topics or exhibited particular political agendas; major contributors to particular publications.
Recent U.K. news stories (via Google News)
