LibGuides: Health Industry Administration: Associations & Organizations

Canadian

Canadian Institute for Health Information
The Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) is an independent, pan-Canadian, not-for-profit organization working to improve the health of Canadians and the health care system. This is a very rich and valuable source of information on Canadian health-related issues and includes statistics, research, and reports.
Canadian Medical Association
The Canadian Medical Association is a national, voluntary association of physicians that advocates on behalf of its members and the public for access to high quality health care, and provides leadership and guidance to physicians. Includes news and publications, clinical resources, and more. Some information is available to CMA registrants only.
HealthCareCan (the merged Association of Canadian Academic Healthcare Organizations and the Canadian Healthcare Association)
Represents healthcare organizations across Canada.Works to improve the health of Canadians, to build capability for high quality care, and improve value for money in publicly-funded, healthcare programs.
Ontario Hospital Association
This association, dedicated to the improvement of health care services in Ontario, publishes many reports and other information online of relevance to the study of healthcare industry management, particularly within the context of Ontario.
Canadian Nurses Association
National body, representing registered nurses in Canada, established to advance the profession and practice of nursing to advance health outcomes and strengthen Canada's publicly funded, not-for-profit healthcare system.
Canadian Pharmacists Association
This is a national not-for-profit organization which acts as the voice for pharmacists in Canada. It strives to enhance the profession and improve patient outcomes.
Canadian Public Health Association
The Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA) is the national, independent, not-for-profit, voluntary association representing public health in Canada.

United States

American College of Healthcare Executives
An international professional society representing some 35,000 healthcare executives worldwide. Offers a wide range of useful information resources some of which are fee-based, and some of which are freely available.
American Medical Association
Provides education for health leaders and information on health care issues and trends including some free statistical and textual information, useful links, a searchable catalogue of the AHA's Resource Center, and some publications which may be purchased for a fee.
AcademyHealth
Provides information for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners and scope for interaction across the health research and policy arenas. AcademyHealth produces a wide range of publications on a number of topics including health care financing and organization, purchasing, quality improvement, and rural, state, and international health policy. Some of these publications are freely available from this web site.
Medical Device Manufacturers Association
MDA seeks to represent independent manufacturers of medical devices, diagnostic products and health care information systems. One notable area of the site is the Industry Resources & Publications area where some information is available for free.
National Institute for Health Care Management
A core goal of this organization is to improve the effectiveness, efficiency, and quality of America's health care system. Many of the research publications of this organization are freely available from the web site.
National Institutes of Health
Acts as the steward of medical and behavioural research in the United States. It is an agency of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. It is the main federal agency for supporting and conducting medical research.Provides information online relating to conditions/diseases, health and wellness and more, as well as linking to health databases, federal health agencies and more.

Associations

Associations Canada

Search Associations Canada to identify associations relevant to your healthcare industry management research in Canada:

Professional and trade associations are often very good sources for health research in the context of a specific industry. Many professional and trade associations also publish magazines known as trade journals.

Articles in trade journals or magazines are especially helpful when conducting health industry administration research, as these publications focus on specific trades, professions or industries, and include current information on industry trends, new products or techniques and organizational news.

Associations quite often make available publications or reports relating to professional or industry trends, policy developments, and other topics. They can be useful when researching the regulatory environment which applies in specific industries or professions as well. Quite often they feature members' directories and links to recommended sources. Note that sometimes full or partial content may be locked down and available to members only.