LibGuides: Health Industry Administration: Competitive Analysis: Health Industry

Databases: For-Profit Sector - Key Players Analysis

You can use the following recommended databases where researching competitors in different health care industries/sectors. These databases will help you identify key players (public and private companies) in health-related industries such as pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, health care equipment and supplies and more.

Mergent Intellect
Intellect, a Mergent product, covers millions of publicly-traded and private companies around the globe (over 130 countries are included). Company records are sourced from a combination of the Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet Million Dollar Directories. Other business information includes executive contacts, a job search tool, and a global corporate family tree feature, industry news, industry reports (First Research), and access to U.S. census data and demographic reports. Intellect also offers access to Key Business Ratios (KBR) for competitive benchmarking data.

Mergent Online
Search for publicly-traded companies operating in the health sector in Canada, the United States or other countries. Provides information for over 10,000 U.S. public companies and almost 20,000 non-U.S. public companies. Company records include detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements.
Hoover's
In-depth coverage of 40,000 companies (public and private) which includes an overview, history, products, competitors, financials, links to SEC filings and added features such as CEOs on Camera. Includes coverage of companies operating in the health sector. The Build a List feature is very useful for generating lists of companies operating in specific industries (including health related industries) matching pre-determined criteria.
Marketline Advantage
Features information, news, case studies and market reports for international companies, industries and countries including Canadian companies. Covers biotechnology, drug delivery, health care equipment and supplies, orthopedics, and OTC pharmaceuticals and pharmaceuticals.
PrivCo
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also provides information on private investors, private M&A deals, and venture capital funding rounds. Note: Users will have to create an account and log-in to Privco if they wish to go into an actual company, investor or deal profile, or download or export information.

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic Plus. Makes available thousands of news, business, and legal information sources. Included are current international newspapers, as well as news magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and newsletters. Business information includes business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. The Company Dossier service covers over 30 million public and private companies worldwide. Also offers access to case law, statutes and regulations, as well as secondary sources such as law reviews and legal news. See guide for help.
Topic: Law (General)
Jurisdiction: Australia / Canada - Federal / Canada - Provinces / Commonwealth / England / European Union / International / Multijurisdictional / United Kingdom / United States

Databases: Nonprofit/Voluntary Sector Key Players Analysis

Canada Revenue Agency - Charities Listings
Search the online list of Canadian charities. View a charity's information return to learn about their finances and activities.
Charity Intelligence
Has been in existence since 2006. The organization focuses on providing Canadian donors with independent research and charity ratings that helps donors make informed giving decisions.
Associations Canada
Associations Canada provides the most comprehensive picture of Canada's non-profit sector, covering Canadian organizations and international groups including industry, commercial and professional associations, registered charities, special interest and common interest organizations.

Annual Reports and Company Filings

Annual Reports and Company Filings
A guide to key resources and how to use them.

Related Subject Guides

Please explore the links below for research guides on various business-related subjects.

Company Research
by Business Librarians Last Updated Mar 28, 2025 1689 views this year
Nonprofit Research
by Sophie Bury Last Updated Oct 28, 2024 124 views this year

Industry Codes

When researching competitors it is very important to understand and use industry codes.

This is because industry codes group competitors operating in the same line of business. These codes define industries broadly and narrowly using a hierarchical numbering scheme in most cases. This U.S. guide to the NAICS 2022 codes provides examples.

Note that practically all company databases allow you to search for companies by applying one or more system of industry codes, e.g., NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) or SIC (Standard Industrial Classification).

Please consult our Industry Codes guide for more information.