LibGuides: African Diaspora: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online Reference Collections

Britannica Online (Academic)
Includes the well-known Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate English Dictionary. Entries are written by experts. Comprehensive coverage of nearly all subjects.
Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions published by Oxford University Press. Includes both short and in-depth entries on a wide array of subjects. Written by experts.
SUBJECTS: Comprehensive coverage of nearly all subjects.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
These bibliographies feature curated lists of trusted academic sources (i.e. articles, books, etc.) covering a wide array of topics spanning 40 subjects. Written by experts.
SUBJECTS: Comprehensive coverage of nearly all subjects.
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples
Entries including: African Canadians, Caribbean Peoples, Guyanese, Haitians, Nigerians, South Africans, and Trinidadians. An entry covers the origin of the group, the process of migration, arrival and settlement, economic and community life, family and kinship patterns, language and culture, education, religion, politics, intergroup relations, and the dynamics of group maintenance.

Featured Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Africana by Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
ISBN: 0195170555
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures By: Daniel Balderston et al. Publication Date: 2000 Format: E-book This three-volume encyclopedia offers more than 4,000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean.
The Canadian Encyclopedia By: Historica Publication date: Format: Website A free, bilingual online national encyclopedia. Offers authored, continuously updated articles focused on Canada’s history and culture.

Featured Bibliographies

The History of Blacks in Canada : a selectively annotated bibliography By: George H. Junne, Jr. Publication Date: 2003 Format: Print Book Brings together source material that demonstrates the significant roles blacks have played in the history and culture of Canada.
A Black Canadian Bibliography By: Flora (Blizzard) Francis Publication Date: 2000 Format: Print Book

What Are Reference Resources?

Reference resources, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals, can provide a great starting point for your research. Many are designed to provide brief overviews of a subject and quick information (like definitions and facts).

Why Conduct Background Research?

Reference resources can help you gain a better understanding of your topic, including complex terminology. Databases only bring back results containing the words you use in your search. To find useful sources, you need to use precise keywords that reflect your topic.