African Diaspora: Primary Sources

A digital library of primary sources from Canada's early heritage. It covers the time period from the first European settlers to the early 20th century and includes government reports, letters, diaries newspapers, magazines and church documents. Search for BLACKS (subject) or NEGRO (full-text).

Oral History Online contains more than 30,000 pages of unique full-text content. This collection includes Ellis Island oral history narratives, exclusive Black Panther Party interviews, and much more.

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. Includes the works of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey,Malcolm X and many others.

Coverage of African American women begins in the eighteenth century with narratives depicting slavery, moves through and beyond the Harlem Renaissance, and includes writers from the movements of the 1960s, covering womanism, black feminism, and related topics.

Contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

This unique online resource provides researchers with access to more than 12,000 works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.

an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.

Provides a historical overview of the experience of Black Loyalists in Canada. The Documents section contains a range of transcribed primary source material such as letters, personal accounts and official proclamations.

This online exhibit by the Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management explores the experience of African Nova Scotians from 1749 to 1955. The exhibit includes digitized archival sources such as photographs and documents.

This collection includes autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English from the 18th century to 1920

This online exhibit by the Archives of Ontario details black history from the end of slavery to the post-war period. It includes many digitized primary sources such as documents, letters and photographs.

The goal of this guide is to help you conduct research at the Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections at York University Libraries.