Use these tools to find citations, abstracts and/or full text materials related to the field of planning. Sample titles of journals, magazines, and trade publications are provided below as a reference only. The content and coverage of specific indexes and databases can change. Check the database holdings or use Ulrich's International Periodical Directory to identify where a specific journal, magazine, or trade publication is indexed.
When searching online, various words are used to help broaden or narrow your search. Here are a few tips you should know before searching any academic database:
Boolean operators: Most internet and electronic databases follow the rules of boolean logic. Boolean logic refers to the relationships (connections or differences) between different search terms. The most common boolean operators are:
AND - used to narrow a search and establish more relevant results by linking keywords together (e.g. "behavioural" and "psychology").
OR - broadens a search and get more results. Typically used for synonyms and words with variant spellings (e.g. "self-actualization" and "self-identity").
NOT - use to narrow a search and get more relevant results (e.g. "behaviouralism" not "humanism").
Truncation: used to find similar words with different endings
e.g. human* searches "human and humans"
e.g. educat* searches "education", "educate", "educational" etc
asterisk (*) searches for various different endings of a word in most databases (including York University), however LexisNexis uses an exlamation mark (!).
Advanced Search - this option is available on most databases, and allows you to specialize your search based on documents (books, articles, video etc), date, geographic location, language, etc.
Quotation Marks - using quotation marks will allow you to search for exact phrases. For example, searching "mental impairment" will only retreive searches with both "mental" and "impairment" together in that order.
Refine Search - many online databases allow you to specify your search criteria after selecting your keywords and clicking on search.
Finding a Specific Journal - if you know the name of the journal you are looking for, type it in the library catalogue, then select "Periodical Title", then hit "go".
See Ask & Services.
For specialized questions and in-depth research, contact your Subject Librarian.