Primary Sources: Canadian sources

• Census of Canada
  The Microtext departmentt on the first floor of the Scott Library (Room 118) has microfilm reels containing copies of the actual census data for selected years between 1842 -1891, plus for all of 1901. You should use the catalogue of microfilmed records of data from census years in the period 1666-1901 (available from the Library and Archives of Canada) to identify the particular reel of interest.
   
• Champlain Society Digital Collection
  The collection contains 115 of the Champlain Society's volumes (over 50,000 printed pages) dealing with exploration and discovery over three centuries. It includes first-hand accounts of Samuel de Champlain's voyages in New France, the diary from Sir John Franklin's first land expedition to the Arctic, 1819–22, plus many other fascinating stories.
   
• Exploration and Settlement
  Library and Archives Canada online collections related to exploration, immigration, naturalization and citizenship. Includes materials such as immigrant diaries, statistics, past census, government documents, images, maps, artwork, reports, records and other significant primary Canadian sources.
   
• Canadiana Collections
  Digital library of primary sources from Canada's early heritage. It covers the time period from the first European settlers to the early 20th century and includes things like government reports, letters, diaries newspapers, magazines and church documents.
   
• Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
  Contains over 1400 authors and over 100 000 pages of primary works: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts as well as images of early encounters. With the exception of indexes, all parts of a source are included. Time period covered is from 1534 - 1860.
   
• In Pursuit of Adventure: The Fur Trade in Canada and the North West Company
  scholarly research site documenting the age of the fur trade in Canada by examining the exploits of the North West Company and other Montreal-based fur trading companies during the late 18th and early 19th century. Includes the full texts of 38 manuscripts that are known collectively as the Masson Papers and cover the period ca 1790-1820.
   
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
  Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Click on "Places" in the Table of Contents for works written in Canada.
   
• North American Women's Letters & Diaries 
  Includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in approximately 120,000 pages of diaries and letters from colonial times to 1950. This is a massive, ongoing project to catalog and index Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Includes letters from Susannah Moodie.
   

• African-American Newspapers
  Restrict your search to the Provincial Freeman, a 19th century anti-slavery newspaper published in Windsor and Toronto.
   
• Diaries of William Lyon Mackenzie King, 1893-1950
  Rich historical source that describe Canadian and world events from the unique perspective of Canada's longest serving Prime Minister.

• First Among Equals: The Prime Minister in Canadian Life and Politics: Speeches
  Selected speeches of Canadian prime ministers arranged alphabetically by subject.
   
• Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
  Covering 1844-2015, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Globe & Mail.
   
• Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990 (Canada)
  Contains the complete annual reports for the department from 1967 to 1990 and also contains the annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966.
   
• Libris Canadiana
  Provides word, title, author and subject access to material published in a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance including: Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine. The time period covered is the 19th and 20th centuries.

• Paper of Record
  Digitized international collection of 18th and 19th century newspaper articles. Click on Search Archives for a list of Canadian newspapers covered. Includes the Canada Gazette from 1867-1869.
   
• Readers' Guide Abstracts
  Contains indexing and abstracting of many popular general-interest periodicals published in Canada and the United States from 1983 forward. The Retrospective option covers the period from 1890-1982.
   
• Toronto Star (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
  Electronic newspaper archive of The Toronto Star, covering the years 1894-2016. Includes stories, editorial and opinion pieces,advertisements, birth and death notices. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.

• First World War
  National Library and Archives Canada’s collection of records illustrating the many roles that Canadian men and women played during World War I and includes personnel records, war diaries, photographs, pamphlets, and posters.

• Second World War: 1939-1945
  Library and Archives Canada collection. The records include military service files, war diaries, photographs, documentary art and posters.
   
• Faces of the Second World War
  Online exhibition featuring photographs of men and women who served in the Canadian Forces during the Second World War.

• Readers' Guide Abstracts
  Contains indexing and abstracting of many popular general-interest periodicals published in Canada and the United States from 1983 forward. The Retrospective option covers the period from 1890-1982.
   

See the Canadian Studies Research Guide for a more complete list of resources.