Human Rights in Africa: Web Links

This Commission was established to protect, promote and interpret the provisions of the African Charter of Human and Peoples’ Rights. One of its mandates is to collect documents, undertake research and disseminate information about African human rights related issues. This website provides access to important documents on African human rights.

The Case Analyser is a free database that covers decisions on African Human Rights in English and French. It is searchable and there are hyperlinks directly to the laws cited in the cases. It was created by the Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems International (HURIDOCS) and the Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa.

The African Law Library is a free website that provides access to legal resources from the continent. Access is provided to unreported cases, legislation,treaties and journal articles in law, ethics, and governance. Registration is required for this website.

Amnesty International is an international NGO with the mandate to prevent violation of human rights abuses. Their website provides access to human rights country reports and other research publications.

Includes the Essex Internet Encyclopedia of Human Rights

Human Rights Watch is an international NGO dedicated to defending and protecting human rights of people around the world. Their website provides access to country reports, news and multimedia materials on human rights.

An international organization with a focus on strategic litigation; providing legal expertise to lawyers, judges, human rights defenders and other partners in the area of international and comparative human rights. The INTERIGHTS website features various publications such as the INTERIGHTS Bulletin, Commonwealth Human Rights Law Digest, books and manuals. It also provides access to the searchable Legal Resources Library and the Commonwealth and International Law Databases (containing case summaries of significant human rights decisions).

This Tribunal was established for the prosecution of persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations committed in the territory of Rwanda between 1 January 1994 and 1 December 1994. On the website you will find judgments and decisions of the tribunal.

A framework for the United Nations, Member States, civil society and all other relevant actors to join together with people of African descent and take effective measures for the implementation of a programme of activities in the spirit of recognition, justice and development, spanning from 2015 to 2024.

FIDH is an international organization that aims to prevent human rights abuses and ensures the prosecution of those responsible for violating them. Their website provides access news, reports and case summaries.

The Commission was established by the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights Act 2002. Its mandate is to protect and promote human rights in Kenya. The website provides access to tribunal and court rulings on human rights issues and other Commission publications.

This Commission was established by the provisions of the National Human Rights Commission Act of 1995. It was established to create an enabling environment for extra-judicial recognition, promotion, protection and enforcement of human rights. It also provides a forum for public enlightenment and dialogue on human rights. The website provides access to rulings, hearings and other publications.

The TRC was established based on the provisions of the Promotion of National Unity and Reconciliation Act No. 34 of 1995. The TRC effected its mandate through 3 committees: the Human Rights Violation Committee, the Reparation and Rehabilitation Committee and the Amnesty Committee. The website provides access to TRC reports, transcripts of events, victims' hearings, submissions of political parties and organizations, policy documents, workshop transcripts, amnesty hearings and decisions.

The Special Court for Sierra Leone was set up with the mandate to try those who bear the greatest responsibility for serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Sierra Leone since 30 November 1996. The website provides access to the cases heard by the court as well as its rules of procedure and evidence.

The OHCR is a part of the United Nations that works objectively to educate and empower individuals and assists States in upholding human rights. The website provides links to fact sheets, reports and training and education materials.