Legal Research for Non-Law Students: Legal studies concepts and methodologies

This open-source scholarly text introduces the reader to key concepts such as legal personhood, jurisdiction, and precedent, and introduces students to legal research and writing skills. Examples of cases, statutes, and other legal materials support these concepts. The auhor also challenges students to consider critically the system they are studying.

This innovative handbook provides a comprehensive and global overview of the main approaches and themes within law and society scholarship or social-legal studies. It addresses issues ranging from reproductive justice to climate justice, food security, water conflicts, artificial intelligence, and global financial transactions. This text is suitable for law students as well as those in inter-disciplinary programs such as law and society, justice studies and legal studies, and those with interests in law, but based in other social sciences.

Law and Society Today focuses on social issues including neoliberalism, migration, multiculturalism, and the influence of law and economics in law teaching, policy debates, and judicial decision-making. With an integrated approach to theory and practice and written in an accessible tone, this text helps students recognize the dynamic forces that shape the way the law is constructed and implemented, particularly how law drives social inequality.

This is one of the most recommended books on the practical legal research and writing skills. It provides a current and comprehensive look at the topic, consolidating information on legal research and writing into one handy, easy-to-use resource. It's suitable for both beginners in legal research and as a handbook for seasoned legal professionals.

This textbooks includes detailed research strategies, and a comprehensive checklist of steps used for a legal research project. It provides in-depth information on key secondary sources as Canadian legal encyclopedias and the Canadian Abridgment, in addition to books and periodicals. Expanded chapters on multiple international jurisdictions are included. A chapter on writing guidelines and a selective bibliography round out and complete this key research tool.

This text provides an overview of the Canadian legal system. Using this fundamental knowledge, readers will build key skills related to analyzing issues and facts, researching legal statutes and cases from various levels of court, creating and maintaining research plans, developing legal arguments, and transitioning their legal writing skills from classroom to courtroom. These skills can be further refined by using the in-text sample problems created by the authors.

Following a general section on basic concepts, topics covered in the book range from treaty research to chapters on particular subjects of international law. Coverage also includes chapters on researching foreign and comparative law as well as major international organizations, including the UN and the EU.