Foreign and Comparative Law: Books

An outstanding desktop tool, the Dictionary of International and Comparative Law is ideal for anyone seeking clear, concise definitions of terminology found in the practice of international and comparative law. This expanded and indispensable guide includes many entries which cannot be found in any other source. What's new in the Third Edition Indisputably the largest dictionary on this subject in print, with over 5,000 entries, 20% of the definitions are revised and enhanced and 500 new entries appear in this edition for the first time. Recognizing the influence of world events, terminology arising from acts of terrorism, such as the attack on the World Trade Center, and the subsequent escalating focus on the war on terrorism comprise many of the new entries.

The first of its kind, this comprehensive Encyclopedia on comparative law takes stock of present-day comparative law scholarship. Written by authorities in their respective fields, the contributions in this accessible book cover and combine not only questions regarding the methodology of comparative law, but also specific areas of law (such as administrative law and criminal law) and specific topics (such as accident compensation and consideration). In addition, the Encyclopedia contains reports on a selected set of countries legal systems and as a whole presents an overview of the current state of affairs. Providing its readers with a unique point of reference, as well as stimulus for further research, this volume is an indispensable tool for anyone interested in comparative law, especially students and scholars.

The Encyclopedia of Private International Law quite simply represents the definitive reference work in the field. Bringing together 195 authors from 57 countries the Encyclopedia sheds light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration.The role and character of Private International Law has changed tremendously over the past decades. With the steady increase of global and regional inter-connectedness the practical significance of the discipline has grown. And so has the number of legislative activities on the national, international and, most importantly, the European level.The Encyclopedia is a rich and varied resource in four volumes. The first two volumes provide comprehensive coverage of topical aspects of Private International Law in the form of 247 alphabetically arranged entries. The third volume provides insightful detail on the national Private International Law regimes of 80 different countries. The fourth volume presents invaluable, and often unique, English language translations of the national codifications and provisions of Private International Law in those countries.Key Features:* 247 substantive entries* 80 national reports* Entries organized alphabetically for ease of navigation * Fully cross-referenced* Entries written by the world's foremost scholars of Private International Law* National codifications in English collected together into a single volume for quick reference* World class editor team.

In an international encyclopedia, a proper place is definitely to be devoted to the Law on Tort. This legal area is important for lawyer and citizen alike. The problems of prevention of harm and loss allocation are not only extremely diverse but also universal and fundamental. This traditional branch of law not only tackles questions which concern every lawyer, whatever is his legal expertise, but it also concerns on a worldwide scale each person's most fundamental rights, such as his right to bodily integrity, his right to a manworthy existence and his property rights. The way a legal system protects rights and interests through, among others, tort law co-determines the degree of civilisation and the development of a given society.

The International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law, published in 17 volumes, is written by worldwide recognized leading specialists of comparative law. 16 of these volumes are devoted to one large area of private and commercial law, each of which is dealt with exclusively from a comparative law perspective, whereas the first volume provides reports on all the countries of the world, in alphabetical order, pertaining to the same subjects. Volume XI (in two part volumes) of the International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law is devoted to the general issues of tort law. The fourteen chapters of this volume offer an introduction into the law of tort, and deal with the prerequisites for liability, as well as remedies, the various types of damages and procedural questions.

Available online.

Available online.

Legal Traditions of the World places national laws in the broader context of major legal traditions, those of chthonic (or indigenous) law, talmudic law, civil law, islamic law, common law, hindu law and confucian law. Each tradition is examined in terms of its institutions and substantivelaw, its founding concepts and methods, its attitude towards the concept of change and its teaching on relations with other traditions and peoples. The concept of legal tradition is explained as non-conflictual in character and compatible with new and inclusive forms of logic.

Available online here

Electronic book available here

Available online.