STS3780 - Biomedicine and Society: Library Databases

Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated quarterly; covers 1975-present.

Scholars Portal is a repository of over 40 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline. Most hosted journals are subscription-based and are available only to Ontario universities who have negotiated access for them. A small but growing number of journals are open access and available to anyone.

Indexes 8,500 research journals across the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Includes most major titles in Historical Studies. Search for articles by subject, author, journal, and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Humanities coverage is from 1975 - present. Provides h-index, sum of times cited, citing articles, and average citations per item.

Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Includes articles on the History and Philosophy of Science. Coverage is from 1954 - present.