United States Legal Research: Statutes & Cases

CCH Intelliconnect provides full text access to US legislation and regulatory materials on tax and securities law.

The Legal Information Institute provides free access to U.S. materials which include the Constitution, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulation, Federal Rules, Uniform Commercial Code and state laws.

Lexis+ Canada provides access to a comprehensive selection of US legislation, statutes and codes. The collection includes constitutions, revised statutes, annotated statutes, tax statutes and rules of court for all 50 U. S. states and territories.
To access this resource, select browse; filter by country selecting United States. Select the folder for "Legislation, Statutes & codes".
(Access is for law and York University faculty and students only).

The National Survey of State Laws (available through HeinOnline) provides access to comparison of current laws on topical issues in the United States.

Proquest Congressional provides access to bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register as well as full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps. Coverage varies from 1789 - date.

The Session Laws Library is available through HeinOnline; it provides access to session laws of all 50 U.S. states and territories.

This collection available through HeinOnline is a historical archive of statutes from the 50 U.S. states dating back to 1717.

This resource contains comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO as well as private publishers.

The U.S. Code is available through HeinOnline from 1925 - 2012. It also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection; a collection of statutes prior to the U.S. Code.

Westlaw Canada provides access to all US statutes, court rules, regulations, proposed and enacted legislation, proposed and adopted regulations. Westlaw US features statutes and regulations by topic.
(Access to this resource is limited to Osgoode Hall Law School faculty and students only).

CCH Intelliconnect provides access to tax and securities cases from the U.S. Coverage includes U.S. Tax Cases, State Tax Cases, IRS Administrative Rulings, Federal Securities Law Reporter.

This resource contains Federal cases from 1894 - 1897 reported in the Trinity Series.

Google Scholar provides access to cases from all US courts.

The Legal Information Institute provides free access to cases from the Supreme Court of the United States from 1990 to date. This also includes oral arguments, Supreme Court Rules and the LII Bulletin.

Lexis+ Canada provides access to federal and state cases at all levels. Access is available to decisions from selected boards, panels and tribunals.
Filter your search by country to the United States to access folders to "Cases" and "Boards, Panels & Tribunals".

The U.S. Supreme Court Library available through HeinOnline contains series of publications such as the U.S. Reports (1754-2011), United States Reports Preliminary Prints (2002-2011) , United States Reports Slip Opinions (2002-to date).

This resource provides access to decisions and cases of U.S. Federal agencies such as The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Westlaw Edge Canada through the "International" portal provides access to US Federal and State court cases, administrative decisions and guidance, selected trial documents from the 1st - 11th Circuit and D.C Circuit courts.
(Access to this resource is limited to Osgoode Hall Law School faculty and students only).