United States Legal Research: Web Links

The website of the US Congress provides access to legislation from 1973, Congressional record from 1995, Committee reports and information.

FindLaw is a free website that provides access to cases, federal and state laws, lawyer directory and new.

Justia provides free access to US case law, codes, regulations, lawyers information, blogs.

The Law Library of Congress website provides extensive information on how to find and locate US legal information.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. The website provides access to numerous digital resources.

This source book is a project of the Law Librarian's Society of Washington DC's Legislative Research Special Interest Group. It provides access to various resources on US legislative research.

The NCSL Research website provides links to state legislatures websites. It also provides access to bills, topical legislation and relevant materials.

PACER provides access to case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. Users need to create an account to use this service.

This website provides access to historical information about the Supreme Court of the United States such as biographies of justices; some of the publications have been digitized and are available on this website.

The website of the Supreme Court of the United States provides access to recent decisions, opinions, transcripts, audio recordings, oral arguments, court rules, biographies and year-end reports of the Chief Justice.

The Oyez Project is the multimedia and audio recording of oral arguments before the Supreme Court of the United States. It also contains biographies of the justices of the court. It is maintained by the Chicago Kent Law School.

The GPO is responsible for the production and distribution of information products and services for the three arms of the Federal Government. The Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to all official publications.