LibGuides: Public Policy and Administration: Scholarly Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks can be a useful starting point for gathering basic background information. They can also provide comprehensive overviews of the current state of scholarly activity in an area, and often highlight key readings and prominent researchers in a field.

International Encyclopedia of Political Science by Badie, Bertrand, et al. (Eds)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2011

Provides comprehensive articles on all aspects of political science.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by Evan M. Berman (Ed); Jack Rabin (Founding Ed)
Call Number: JK 9 E526 2008 V.1-3 Scott Reference (2nd floor)

Publication Date: 2008

Contains detailed entries written by scholars on all aspects of public policy and administration. Useful for scholars and practitioners.
Oxford Bibliographies: Political Science
Call Number: Online

An excellent source for scholarly overviews of topics related to political science.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: Online

An excellent starting point for a wide variety of topics in the social sciences.
The Oxford Handbook of Canadian Politics by John Courtney and David Smith (Eds)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2010

Provides authoritative overview essays on key aspects of Canadian politics.

Need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research?

Chat online with a research specialist.

Public Policy and Administration: Scholarly Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Need help?

Online Tutorials