LibGuides: Political Science / Science Politique (GL/POLS): Government Information

Databases

What Is Government Information?

Government departments and institutions create government information (i.e., federal, provincial, territorial, municipal). Some examples include ministerial statements, news releases, reports, and statistics.

Departments release these publications in print or online – sometimes both.

Search the OMNI discovery system to locate print or electronic government publications. You can consult the recommended databases below, or visit the Library's government information guides.

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources. This database includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals. It also has a bilingual (English/French) interface. CPI.Q features titles like The Globe and Mail and Maclean's, along with travel handbooks.
Canadian Research Index
This database includes federal, provincial, and municipal documents. The collection features depository publications, reports, policy documents, monographs and serials. Dates of coverage are 1900-2018.
Early Canadiana Online
A digital library of primary sources from Canada's early heritage. This collection covers the period from the first European settlers to the early 20th century. It includes government reports, letters, diaries, newspapers, magazines, and church documents.
eBooks at Scholar's Portal
This eBook collection features over a hundred thousand titles from various academic publishers. Notable presses include, Springer, Oxford University Press and Emerald Group Publishing. The collection also includes publications from Canadian University Presses and governmental/ non-governmental organizations.