LibGuides: History/ Histoire (GL/HIST): Scholarly Books &amp; eBooks

eBook Collections

To find print books and eBooks, try the OMNI discovery system. It provides access to a wide range of resources at York Libraries and beyond. You can use it to find books, book chapters, articles and much more!

Discover items available at York Libraries or browse the collections of partner libraries. There are currently 18 OMNI libraries across the province to choose from.

Below is a selection of featured eBook collections that may be of interest.

ProQuest E-book Central
eBook Central is a key electronic book provider for York Libraries. This collection includes thousands of titles from academic presses. For instance, publishers such as Routledge, Taylor & Francis, Wiley and more.
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects.
eBooks at Scholars Portal
This collection features thousands of eBooks from important academic presses. For instance, publishers like Springer, Cambridge, Oxford, Elsevier and more.
● Subjects: comprehensive coverage of subjects.
Greenleaf Online Library (GOL)
This collection covers eBooks on topics relating to sustainability. It also includes a selection of journals on trending environmental topics.
● Subjects: responsible business, sustainability, leadership, development, climate change.
SpringerLink
This collection features thousands of eBooks, journals and conference papers published by Springer. It includes over 1,000 eBook titles.
● Subjects: economics, public health, computer science, business, etc.

Research Tips

Finding Books & E-books

To access an e-book through the catalogue, click the "online" link in the item record. For print books, the location and call number (ex. P 96 15 F56 2018) will help you retrieve an item on the shelves.

Reading Call Numbers

ex. P 96 15 F56 2018

P = Find the P section on the 2nd floor of the Frost Library

96.15 = On the shelves there will be ranges (ex. P 53-123)

F56 = Read this line alphabetically, then numerically

2018 = This is the publication date