STS 3600 Technological Failure: Home

Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. It contains 41 million records with around 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It includes over 3 million conference papers and offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Indexes 8,500 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal, and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1900 - present.

This resource consists of a single search screen that provides access to multiple databases for searching literature in a variety of disciplines. Choose a subject area or select specific databases to conduct a search.

Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Indexes primarily English language technology articles. Coverage includes trade and industry publications, journals published by professional and technical societies as well as buyer's guides, directories and conference proceedings. Has some good PHilosophy of Science articles. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

This product includes all the content present in the Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) databases. Subject coverage is comprehensive. Information is present from all areas including: current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus. Full text is available within these areas.

A subset of regular Google, it allows users to search for articles from all disciplines. Content is heavily skewed towards scholarly and scientific information; however, humanities and social science content is present, as is non-scholarly material.

Indexes journals from a wide variety of social science disciplines and interdisciplinary fields. These fields include psychology, sociology, urban studies, etc. Emphasis is on the United States with some international coverage. Coverage is from 1994 - present

Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated quarterly; covers 1975-present.

The History of Science Society is the world's largest society dedicated to understanding science, technology, medicine, and their interactions with society in historical context. Over 3,000 individual and institutional members across the world support the Society's mission to foster interest in the history of science and its social and cultural relations. (FROM THEIR SITE)

Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Includes articles on the History and Philosophy of Science. Coverage is from 1954 - present.

Good coverage of philosopy-related aspects of science and technology. Indexes articles, anthologies, book reviews, books and essays in anthologies. It is international in scope and not limited to any one period or culture. Coverage is from 1940 - present.

Contains YUL's book, ebook, and journal holdings.

York University Libraries' guide to identifying peer-reviewed journals.

Look up a journal in Ulrich's Web to find out if it is peer-reviewed. Note: Ulrich's calls peer-reviewed "refereed."