Compiling a BibliographyWriting in ScienceAcademic Integrity - How Not To PlagiarizeMendeleyZotero
This is the "Home" page of the "Ada Lovelace Day Women in Science Wikipedia Edit-a-thon" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ada Lovelace Day Women in Science Wikipedia Edit-a-thon  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/ada Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

Submit your question by email
 

Ada!

 

Shared Space for Edit-a-thon projects

Here's a link to a Google Doc that people can use to record their day's activities. 

 

The Free College's Video Tutorial on Editing Wikipedia

 

Video #2

 

Editing Wikipedia

Some resources on editing and creating Wikipedia articles:

A link to our public Google Docs page for shared notes is here.

Our Twitter hashtag for the day is #YorkuALD. You might also want to use #AdaLovelaceDay, #ALD15, #WomeninSTEM.

 

Lists of Women Scientists that Might Need Work

Here are some lists of articles on women scientists already on Wikipedia. There are many opportunities to improve these articles.

First, try list link: Wikipedia:WikiProject Women scientists/Worklist

More resources here:

Selected Library & Internet Research Resouces

  • Biographical Memoirs: National Academy of Sciences
    Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs provide the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members. Colleagues familiar with the subject's work write these memoirs and as such, the series provides a biographical history of science in America.
  • American National Biography
    The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency, the ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities (from publisher)
  • Google Books
    Searchable full text of millions of books, very good resource for tracking information about obscure or lesser known people or subjects. Usually, only snippets of the books are visible but useful for figuring out if you want to track down the book via our collection or interlibrary loan.
  • Scholars Portal Books
    The platform includes material from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, and the Gibson CRKN and Public Policy collection. In addition, there are 200,000 books from the Internet Archives
  • Scholars Portal Journals
    Database of millions of full text articles across all scholarly disciplines. Very good for inter- and multi-disciplinary topics
 

Need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research? 

Book a free appointment with one of our research specialists.

Visit a research/reference desk at one of the libraries.

Chat online with a research specialist.

Useful Subject Research Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip