Psychology: Research Methods

Focused on actively using systematic review as method, this book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing.

A guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides answers to review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I assess the quality of a study?

The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies, and research issues in psychology. Qualitative research in psychology has been transformed since the first edition's publication. Responding to this evolving field, existing chapters have been updated while three new chapters have been added on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation, and Netnography. With a focus on methodological progress throughout, the chapters are organised into three sections: Section One: Methods Section Two: Perspectives and Techniques Section Three: Applications In the field of psychology and beyond, this handbook will constitute a valuable resource for both experienced qualitative researchers and novices for many years to come.

Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology equips students and researchers in psychology and the social sciences to carry out qualitative data analysis, focusing on four major methods (grounded theory, interpretative phenomenological analysis, discourse analysis and narrative analysis).

This book is for students who are embarking on a qualitative research project in psychology. It takes you through planning a qualitative project, stage by stage, addressing key issues and concerns along the way. The book guides you through: designing your research, ethical considerations, collecting your data, analysing your data, and writing your report.

This handbook offers a unified treatment of quantitative psychology. Each chapter covers a methodological topic with equal attention paid to established theory and the challenges facing methodologists as they address new research questions using that particular methodology.

This collection provides readers with a representative sample of the best articles in quantitative methods that have appeared in SAGE journals. The volumes and articles are organized by theme. Volume One: Fundamental Issues in Quantitative Research Volume Two: Measurement for Causal and Statistical Inference Volume Three: Alternatives to Hypothesis Testing Volume Four: Complex Designs for a Complex World

The handbook contributors investigate the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, forensic, health, and "tele-" psychology. Several chapters zero in on the teaching of ethics and on ethically minded research relevant to professionals working in experimental psychology.

The Research Ethics section in the SAGE Research Methods Project Planner will help you to determine whether your research is ethical, define key concepts, and explain the process of an ethical approval.