LibGuides: Psychology: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

These databases are good places to start searching for scholarly (and sometimes popular) articles in psychology.

PsycINFO via Proquest This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, dissertations, reports, books, book chapters, and other scholarly documents. The definitive resource in psychology, it indexes literature from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. Coverage is from 1872 - present. Please see the Guide to Using PsycINFO for more information.
Creating permalinks to articles in PsycInfo
PsycINFO via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, dissertations, reports, books, book chapters, and other scholarly documents. The definitive resource in psychology, it indexes literature from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. Coverage is from 1872 - present. Please see APA’s PsycINFO Guide for more information.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 50 major psychology journals including all journals published by the American Psychological Association, and 3 Canadian Psychological Association journals. These journals are also indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage is from 1988-present for most journals. Interface allows full text searching across all journals.
Creating permalinks to articles in PsycARTICLES
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes 8,500 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1945 - present. See Guide to Cited Reference Searching Using Web of Science for information on how to use Web of Science for cited reference searching.
Web of Science Core Collection includes over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books. More information

Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine. Covers the broad field of biomedicine. Includes indexing in areas such as health psychology and clinical psychology. Coverage is from 1966 - present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health is responsible for maintaining this database. See tutorials. Non-York users, Open Access PubMed available from this link
Creating Permalinks to an article in PubMed. The YUL customized PubMed link provides access to full-text articles and e-journals subscribed by York Libraries.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, audiovisuals and educational software, dissertations, conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Topics include all aspects of nursing, emergency services, health education,health administration, consumer health and alternative therapies. Coverage is from 1982 - present. See tutorial on searching in CINAHL. See help videos.
Creating Permalinks to articles in CINAHL (EBSCO) database.

PsycEXTRA
Contains full-text professional and lay-audience literature such as legal testimony and amicus briefs, reports, conference materials, popular magazines, factsheets, grants, and web materials. Comprises an archive of grey literature documenting psychology's development.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. Further, with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research, Scopus empowers you to advance your science beyond the text. For tutorials see Scopus Help.

ERIC
The most important index in the field of education, ERIC comprises two sections: published materials (EJ) in the form of references to articles from over 775 education journals; and non-published materials (ED), including research reports, curriculum/teaching guides, and papers. Coverage is from 1966 - to the present.
PrimateLit
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes various publication types (articles, books, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, etc). Note (Jan. 2023): this resource is archived. The data files are still available, but the interactive database is no longer accessible, since 2018.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Indexes journals from a wide variety of social science disciplines and interdisciplinary fields. These fields include psychology, sociology, urban studies, etc. Emphasis is on the United States with some international coverage. Coverage is from 1994 - present.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Indexes 650 journals from 16 countries. A comprehensive source of social science and health information.
Creating permalinks to articles in ASSIA (ProQuest).

History of Science, Technology & Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields including history of psychology. Updated quarterly, the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine covers 1975 to the present.

Érudit
Site de diffusion de revues universitaires de langue francaise, Érudit compte articles, livres numériques, thèses et quelques centaines de prépublications. L'outil de recherche permet d'interroger l'ensemble de la collection ou certains de ses segments.

Francis & Pascal This link opens in a new window
Provides multilingual indexing and abstracts of scholarly articles from an international perspective.

Cairn
Cairn.info recense plus de 150 revues académiques de langue française parus depuis 2001 dans les sciences humaines : économie, histoire, géographie, lettres, linguistique, psychologie, éducation, sciences politiques, société. Les archives sont en accès gratuit, ainsi que les résumés, sommaires et plans d'articles, et le texte intégral de certains articles récents sont aussi disponibles.

PsycCRITIQUES
PsycCRITIQUES was a database of the American Psychological Association. It was discontinued in 2017.

An archive has now been made available through Scholars Portal. It includes book and video reviews in psychology and the social sciences. This archive also contains reviews published under the Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books print journal

Coverage: 1956-2017
PsyArXiv (Preprints)
PsyArXiv (psychology archive) is designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research. PsyArXiv is a creation of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPS) and the Center for Open Science (COS).

PsyArXiv allows scholars to post documents such as working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review (preprints), making them accessible to other researchers and to the public at no cost.

Related Guides

Need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research? There are lots of ways to Get Help.