Welcome to PsycINFO
Welcome to the guide to PsycINFO. This guide introduces you to basic search techniques for PsycINFO and then covers more advanced search features that allow you to become more systematic in your searching. Finally, it will explain how to interpret the records you find and provide some advice on how to access full-text to various types of sources.
This guide has the following sections:
- Keyword Searching in PsycINFO
- Advanced Searching in PsycINFO
- Scholarly? Peer-Reviewed?
- Getting Full Text
Description of PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, dissertations, reports, books, book chapters, and other scholarly documents. The definitive resource in psychology, it indexes literature from over 34 countries in more than 30 languages. Coverage is from 1872 - present.
PsycINFO is a tool (often referred to as an index) for finding material that has been published on various psychological topics. The index provides you with a citation and an abstract, but it does not provide full text. It is also important to note that the York University Libraries do not subscribe to all the material included in the index.
Can't find what you're looking for? Need help with your research? There are lots of ways to Get Help.
Resources to help you with:
Understanding Your Assignment
Choosing a Topic
Selecting Appropriate Resources
Gathering & Noting Ideas
Revising Your Arguments
Click on the links for more details. Please see the calendar listing all upcoming workshops.